chinese.parenthandbook.virginia.edu

常见问题解答

孩子开始上大学不仅是孩子生活的转折点,而且是父母生活中的一个重要转变。在这个新的旅程开始的时候有很多疑问是非常正常的。

转变时期

一生中重大的转变都标志着开始和结束。这些转变既推人向前,也拖人后退。转变在带给您焦虑与不安的同时,也带给您兴奋与肯定。

当您跟孩子一起经历这一转变的时候,为您的诸多问题提供解答将帮您减轻焦虑从而是您享受兴奋。

下边是新生家长最常问的一些问题。您也会看到相关问题的参考书目,从而能进行更多的了解。

每年秋季,弗大伴随着迎新也经历着自身的变化。整个弗大社区每年伴随着新生入学同各位家长亲朋一起不断地经历着令人激动的成长与变化。

开始

问: 我在这个转变期应该扮演一个什么角色?

答: 开始上大学是迈向独立的一大步。您可以帮助培养孩子的独立性,允许孩子对大事小事作出自己的决定。比如,选课是学生在大学期间确立独立自主意识的重要过程,特别是如果孩子的学业不是已经事先由学校定好。学生在校期间会需要独立作出无数类似的重要决定。在“给家长的十大建议”中,文理学院副院长Rachel Most描述了父母如何在孩子适应大学生活的过程中给孩子支持帮助他们走向独立。她说,“父母的角色要从教练转变为啦啦队长”。

问: 谁会帮助我的孩子适应弗大?

答: 很多人会帮助您新生适应大学生活。他们包括:

  • 宿舍管理员宿舍管理员是住校学生,特别是新生和转学生,最好的资源。从基本生活信息到选课建议或者任何其他大学生活的方方面面,经过特别培训的宿舍管理员都能提供最好的帮助。

  • 高年级同学顾问: 高年级的学长经常作为顾问帮助新生。一个著名的成立于30多年前的项目叫作“非裔学生顾问项目”,将高年级学生与新生配对为新生提供咨询帮助。类似的项目帮助转学生,或是特别提供学业、就业和健康方面的咨询帮助。比如说,文理学院的学生会就提供学业咨询。

  • 学生处工作人员: 新生可以在学生处找到很多可以帮助他们的教职员工。无论是在大学找到方向,还是就业辅导,或者只是找一个倾诉的对象,学生都可以在这里得到帮助。可以从教导处开始。

  • 各个学院的辅导员、学业指导教授和教工: 每个学院都设有专门帮助学生的辅导员和指导教授。文理学院的辅导员也负责学业上的指导。新生一入学就根据所分宿舍或者作为转学生或运动特招或奖学金持有者的身份指派一名辅导员。学生在文理学院就读期间跟随同一名辅导员。 

  • 心理咨询服务: 如果您的孩子情绪低落、感到焦虑抑郁,可以在弗大学生健康中心的心理咨询部寻求帮助。这是一个具备完整规模的心理治疗部门,可以提供轻度、中度和重度的各种心理问题。

健康与安全

问: 我的孩子生病了怎么办?

答: 学生在弗大期间应该以弗大学生健康中心作为主要寻医问药的地方。这里提供的医疗服务包括心理咨询、普通医疗(包括过敏、免疫、国际旅行等科室)、妇科、保健、滥用药物预防以及残障学生服务。医务中心关门期间,如有紧急健康问题,学生可以拨打 434.972.7004 接通值班医生。如果是威胁生命的情况,学生务必拨打911。

学生健康中心的服务,包括有关保险的信息,都在学生健康部分有详细描述

问: 在校园内就可以取到处方药吗?

答: 是的。学生健康中心即配有药店,可以配所有处方药(即使处方不是由学生健康中心开据的)。另一家药店位于大学书店内,地点非常方便。校园附近的Corner还有一家零售药店。

问: 学校有哪些保障学生安全的措施?

答: 学生安全 是弗大优先考虑的问题。新生报到的时候会收到一份详尽的学生安全 手册。请跟您的孩子一起认真阅读这份安全指南

针对性暴力,弗大已经采取了几大重要措施,包括开始执行一项新政策,包括从2015年开始的相关政策与培训项目。

任何一天都有多达3万3千多学生、教职员工和前来参观访问的人员来到校园及周边地区。每一个人都负有为大家创造一个安全社区的责任。学生要对周围的环境敏感,互相关照彼此的安全,并且在需要帮助或是看到可疑情况时马上拨打911。

问:所以拨打911不会被认作“妨碍”警察工作?

答: 绝对不会。大学和本市警察宁愿亲自来查看一下情况而不愿失去阻止可能犯罪的机会。请跟您的孩子强调拨打911是最快得到帮助的方式。

学生生活周期

问: 我怎么才能了解我的孩子的大学生活?

答: 有些活动,比如期中考试,会出现在学年的固定时间。一些大学的传统活动,比如三年级颁发戒指的仪式,时间也相对固定。请查看“学生时间表”了解四年间的活动概况。时间表上也列出了社交活动。您最为了解自己的孩子。当这些活动进行时,您传达给孩子的直接而简单的关于安全的劝诫非常重要。 

问: 您所说的“社交活动”是什么意思?

答: 万圣节、最后一场足球主场比赛、圣派克节和Foxfield赛马会是一些学生们喜欢庆祝,有时候庆祝过头的活动。 学校在这些活动举行之前安排一系列的安全教育以防患于未然。家长也可以配合学校在这些时候对自己的孩子进行安全和责任教育。如果您的孩子不是州内学生,您要督促孩子了解弗吉尼亚州关于饮酒的法律。

问: 如何跟我的孩子谈喝酒的问题?

答:请参考“酒精使用:家长如何帮助学生远离酒精”。Susie Bruce,学校药物滥用防治中心主任为您提供实用的如何进行这一重要谈话的窍门。Bruce主任也谈到如何讨论一些学生们对酒精的误解,特别是他们认为同学饮酒十分普遍的看法。一份2015年的弗大研究表明,大部分的学生在周六晚上,要么根本不喝酒,要么只饮不超过三杯含酒精的饮料。

问: 什么是Foxfield赛马会?

答: Foxfield赛马会是一个非常流行的一年一度的春季赛马大会,弗大以及州内甚至附近州外的学生都会参加。赛马会在校园几英里之外的一个马场举行。这一活动并不是弗大举办的。活动中有大量警员在场维持秩序。时常会有学生因不到年龄而饮酒等违反饮酒法律的行为被拘。弗大的同学顾问组织和校方领导都会在赛马会前对学生进行安全教育。学生特别要注意的是在活动前后找到安全的出行方式。父母要特别提醒孩子怎么玩得既尽兴又安全。

消除顾虑

问: 我的孩子在新生培训期间没能注上自己想选的课怎么办?

答: 首先您和您的孩子都不必担忧。8月份注册系统会重新开放。学生在此期间增加或者取消某一课程的注册。开学一星期之内,有些课程即使已经注满也有注册的可能。有时候授课教授会允许学生修已经注满的课程。

问: 我的孩子和室友的关系好像不太好。能调宿舍吗?

答: 对许多学生来说,这是他们第一次与陌生人共享私人空间。这一经历可以是一个极好的学习机会,在让步、沟通、多元化、坚持主见等方面越来越了解自己和生活。鼓励您的孩子应对这一挑战。

在与室友的相处中,偶尔的冲突是正常的。在很少的情况下,室友之间的矛盾的确无法调和。因为弗大认为与室友相处是有益于学生的经历,学校规定当室友之间出现矛盾的时候必须先努力尝试解决矛盾才考虑调换宿舍。

新生入校时室友同宿舍管理员一同书写并签署一份协议。该协议旨在预防室友之间可能出现的矛盾。另外学校有各种正式非正式的调解机制用来帮助协调室友之间的关系。如果您的孩子表示跟室友的相处出现了问题,鼓励孩子与室友共同协商。如果不成功,您的孩子可以与宿舍管理员沟通,宿舍管理员会帮忙向大学住宿部门的相关领导反映情况。能否调换宿舍要取决于具体情况和是否有空位。

问: 已经到了2月份,可是我的孩子似乎还是没能适应集体生活。我该怎么做呢?

答: 有时候父母觉得他们的孩子需要帮助。但是我们鼓励您引导孩子自主地寻求那样的帮助。学校住宿部的员工长期直接与学生打交道,深知学生的需求。他们能给您的孩子提供有经验的指导从而使您的孩子能够作出他们自己认为最好的选择。

当然也有家长应该跟学校直接联络共同解决问题的情况。比如,如果您认为您的孩子无法自行寻求帮助(比如孩子陷入了极度的抑郁),如果您在紧急情况下联系不上自己的孩子,或者如果您认为有人处于危险之中,请您联系住宿部(434.924.3736)或者学生处(434.924.7133)或者学校警务部(434.924.7166)。这些部门24小时均有人值班。

一些实际问题

问: 我的孩子回家最便捷的方式是什么?

答: 这要看您住在哪里。学生可以选择飞机、火车、灰狗大巴、私人长途客运巴士以及搭车服务。详情参见相关网页

问: 我怎么给孩子寄东西?

答: 您可以在此查看孩子的邮寄地址 http://hms.housing.virginia.edu/addresses. 在可以在此查看往宿舍楼寄东西的详情。

提前考虑的问题

问: 我的孩子怎么计划海外留学?

答: 虽然很多学生不愿意错过在弗大的一个学期,但是学生有很多留学海外的选择。在第一个学期适应大学生活之后,鼓励您的孩子参加春季学期或是二年级秋季学期的留学项目介绍会。

最流行的留学时段是二年级或者三年级。作为准备阶段,学生应该在学期开始不久与他们的留学导师见面,讨论学业要求和申请截止日期。学生需要了解办理留学需要大量的手续,所以提早安排将有利于申请顺利进行。很多来年春季的留学项目的申请截止日期在10月份,有时候甚至更早,在9月就截至报名了。参看相关网页了解留学海外、冬季学期和本科研究等更多学习机会。 

问: 学生们在找实习或工作时能获得什么帮助?

答: 弗吉尼亚大学职业中心为大一学生直接提供服务、项目和招聘会。鼓励您的孩子尽早并且经常来职业中心。学生可以通过中心加入一个或多个职业社区。这些社区提供特别咨询,项目,精选的工作和实习机会。

parenthandbook.virginia.edu

Frequently Asked Questions

Starting college is a major transition not only for your student, but also for you as a parent. It’s normal for many questions to arise as you begin this journey, whether you are undertaking it for the first time or the fourth.

Time of Transition

Throughout life, transitions mark endings and beginnings. They usher in periods of forward movement and backward slides. Transitions bring both anxiety and excitement, uncertainty and sureness.

As you begin the college transition with your daughter or son, having answers to your questions can help alleviate the anxiety so you can enjoy the excitement.

Below are some of the questions most commonly asked by parents of new UVA students. You will see references to subsequent handbook Web pages that provide more detailed information.

Every fall, the University undergoes its own transition with the arrival of new students. Along with you — their parents and families — the UVA community continues to grow and change in exciting new ways.

Getting Started

Q: What should be my role during this time of transition?

A: Starting college is a major step toward independence. You can help foster this independence by allowing your student to make decisions around things big and small. Selecting classes, for example, is a major way for new students (when the curriculum is not preset) to establish a sense of autonomy and engage directly in a process that will occur numerous times during their years at UVA. In her “Top Ten Tips for Parents,” Associate Dean Rachel Most describes ways to support your student in the journey to becoming more independent. She says, “your role is changing from coach to cheerleader."

Q: Who will help my daughter or son become acclimated to UVA?

A: Many individuals are available to help new students find their way. They include:

  • Resident Advisers: The RA is one of the best resources readily available to all students living on Grounds, especially to first-year and transfer students. From basic questions to advice about classes or other aspects of University life, RAs are trained to help students.
  • Peer Advisers: Upperclass students often serve as peer mentors to new students. One notable initiative that was established more than three decades ago is the African-American Peer Advising Program, which pairs upperclass students with new students. Similar programs serve transfer students or encompass peer mentoring around academics, careers, and health. The College Council, for example, provides peer academic advising.
  • Student Affairs Staff: Students can find a range of help from faculty and staff in the division of Student Affairs. From help in navigating the University to career counseling to a kind ear, your student can find assistance here. The Office of the Dean of Students is a good place to start.
  • Association Dean, Academic Deans, and Staff in Individual Schools: Each school has deans and staff in place to help students. In the College of Arts & Sciences, students should look to their association dean for academic assistance. College students are assigned to an association dean based on their first-year housing assignment or their status as a transfer student, student-athlete, or Echols Scholar. Students keep the same association dean for as long as they remain in the College.
  • Counseling and Psychological Services: If your student is feeling stressed, down, or worried, she or he can find help at CAPS, a center based in Student Health.

Health and Safety

Q: What if my student gets sick?

A: Students should consider Student Health as the primary option for their health care while at UVA. Medical services include the CAPS, General Medicine, Gynecology, Health Promotion, the Gordie Center for Substance Abuse Prevention, and the Student Disability Access Center. After hours, for urgent health concerns, students can call the answering service at 434.972.7004 to be connected with an on-call care provider. In an emergency or life-threatening situation, students should always call 911.

Student Health's services, including information about health insurance requirements, are described on Health and Wellness.

Q: Is it possible to get prescriptions filled on Grounds?

A: Yes, Student Health has a pharmacy that will fill all prescriptions (even those not written by Student Health), and a UVA licensed pharmacist is conveniently located inside the UVA Bookstore on Central Grounds. In addition, a retail pharmacy is located on the Corner.

Q: What safety measures are in place for students?

A: Student safety is a priority at UVA. When students come to Orientation, they will receive a comprehensive Student Safety booklet. Please take time to review the guide with your student.

In addressing the issue of sexual violence, the University has taken several major steps, including implementing a new policy and training programs in 2015.

On any given day, as many as 33,000 students, faculty, staff, and visitors come to the Grounds and surrounding area. Everyone plays a role in creating a safe community. Students are urged to be aware of their surroundings, to watch out for one another, and to always call 911 if they need help or see a person or situation that seems suspicious.

Q: So calling 911 is not considered “bothering” the police?

A: Absolutely not. University Police and local police would rather come and check out a situation than not have the opportunity to stop potential criminal activity. Emphasize to your student that calling 911 is the fastest way to get help.

Cycles of Student Life

Q: How can I keep track of what is going on in my daughter or son’s life at UVA?

A: Certain events, such as midterms, occur at predictable times during the academic year. A number of UVA traditions, such as the Third-Year Ring Ceremony, also occur at set times. See “Student Timeline: What Happens When” for an overview of key activities during all four years. The timeline highlights social events as well. You know your student best, but these are occasions when a simple but direct message from you about safe, sensible celebrating may be important.

Q: When you say “social events,” what do you mean?

A: Halloween, the last home football game, St. Patrick’s Day, and Foxfield are occasions when students tend to celebrate, sometimes to excess. The University offers a variety of education and prevention programs around these times. Parents can be supportive by talking with their students about the importance of being responsible. For students not from Virginia, it is important for them to familarize themselves with state laws concerning alcohol.

Q: Any pointers on how to talk with my daughter or son about alcohol use?

A. Yes, see the column, “Alcohol Use among Students: How Parents Can be Partners in Prevention.” Susie Bruce, director of the Gordie Center for Substance Abuse Prevention, offers practical tips on how to approach these important conversations. She also discusses some of the misperceptions, especially among students, about the prevalence of drinking among their peers. A 2015 UVA study, for example, found that on a typical Saturday night, a majority of students either don’t drink or consume no more than three alcoholic beverages.

Q: What is Foxfield?

A: The Foxfield steeplechase races is a popular spring event with many students from UVA as well as from other schools in Virginia and nearby states. Held at a racetrack several miles from the UVA Grounds, the races are not sponsored by UVA. The presence of law enforcement is significant, and it is not unusual for a handful of students to be arrested for alcohol violations, especially underage possession. Both student peer groups and University officials communicate safety messages to students prior to the event. It is especially important for students to find safe transportation to and from the event. Parents can help reinforce the importance of planning to have a fun, but safe time.

Concerns

Q: My son is disappointed that he did not get the classes he wanted during registration at Orientation. What can he do?

A: First, you and he should not worry. Course registration reopens in August, and students can add and drop classes then. During the first week of classes, students also can attend different courses even if they are full, and sometimes professors will allow more people to take the class.

Q: Things don’t seem to be going well between my daughter and her roommate. Can she switch to a different room?

A: For many students, this is the first time they have had to share private space with another individual. This experience can be a tremendous learning opportunity, bringing self-knowledge and life lessons in compromise, communication, diversity, and assertiveness. Encourage your student to enter this new relationship with a sense of adventure and patience.

Occasional conflicts are to be expected in such a relationship, and in a very small percentage of cases, roommate assignments do not work. Because the University believes the experience of living with a roommate is a valuable one, it is expected that first-year students make a good faith effort to resolve roommate conflicts before a room change is considered.

Upon arrival, roommates create and sign a contract with their RA. The contract serves as a guide to prevent issues between roommates before they develop. In addition, many resources are available for addressing roommate conflict, including formal and informal mediation processes. If your student is having roommate concerns, encourage her or him to try to work it out together with the roommate. If that is not successful, your student should contact her or his RA who will help or refer the situation to an assistant dean or area coordinator in Housing & Residence Life. The ability to change rooms depends upon the situation and the spaces available.

Q: It’s February, and my first-year son just does not seem to be adjusting to college life. What can I do?

A: Sometimes parents feel that their student needs help. It is strongly encouraged that you guide your student to seek out that help on her or his own. By dealing directly with the student, the Housing & Residence Life staff are able to develop a relationship, ascertain the student’s needs, provide your student with an experienced perspective, and allow your student to choose the option she or he feels is best.

Of course, there are times when it is important that a parent call the University directly to partner on a problem. For instance, if you believe that your student is unable to seek her or his own help (such as in cases of severe depression), if you are unable to reach your child in an emergency, or if you believe someone may be in danger, please call Housing & Residence Life (434.924.3736), the Office of the Dean of Students (434.924.7133), or the University Police (434.924.7166). Someone is available 24/7.

Practical Considerations

Q: What’s the easiest way for my daughter or son to get home?

A: Depending on where you live, transportation is available through the Charlottesville Airport, Amtrak, Greyhound, independently owned bus services, and ride-sharing. See Transportation beyond Grounds for more information.

Q: How do I send mail to my student?

A: You can get your first-year student’s mailing address by going to the Housing website. For more information about mail service to the residence halls, see FAQs.

Thinking Ahead                                                               

Q: How can my student plan for studying abroad?

A: Although students may prefer not to miss a semester at UVA, many options are available for education abroad. After the acclimatization period of first semester, encourage your student to attend the Education Abroad fair in the spring semester or in the fall semester of her or his second year.

The most popular times to study abroad are second and third years. As an initial step, students should meet with an education abroad adviser and with her or his academic adviser early in the semester to discuss academic requirements and deadlines. Students should be aware that there may be a great deal of paperwork involved, so planning early will help facilitate the process. Many deadlines are in October for the upcoming spring, but as early as September in some cases. See Other Academic Opportunities for more information about Education Abroad, as well as other academic opportunities, such as January Term and Undergraduate Research.

Q: What help is available for students to find internships and jobs?

A: The University of Virginia Career Center provides direct student services, programs, and career fairs for students beginning in their first year. Encourage your student to visit the center early and often.

Students can join one or more of six Career Communities through the center. The communities offer specialized advising, programs, and handpicked job and internship opportunities.