Navigation

搜索本站

学生处

学生处(ODOS)为学生事务部的一部分,与学生个体、学生组织、家属和教师合作为学生关心的问题提供信息、建议与支持;对涉及学生的事件做出应对;并帮助学生享有更好的整体体验。

弗大学生处位于Peabody楼且监管以下校内的学生处所属部门:新生入学培训和各项新生活动;住宿和宿舍生活;学生活动;兄弟会和姐妹会组织;多元文化学生服务;以及一些学生活动场所,包括:Newcomb楼、弗大角的1515学生中心、Commons楼、学生活动楼、和Runk Green室等。

学生处副主任或助理主任在学生遇到行为和心理健康问题时采取有针对性的应对措施,也负责解决学生遇到的一般性问题的需求。

值班学生主任为学生们提供每天24小时的帮助与突发事件处理。与家长热线一样,此服务由Peabody楼提供。如在值班时间之外,家长可通过拨打校警电话434.924.7166联系到值班学生主任。其它重要的电话号码和邮箱地址请见主要联系方式 。

学生处Peabody办公室的工作人员与弗大第九条款的工作人员一同为曾受到性与性别伤害的学生或者有任何需要学生处主任帮助的学生提供帮助与服务。学生处也负责一些关于歧视与欺辱行为有关的预防、调查、与后续工作。请见即时举报网站。

多元文化学生支持

这个部门的工作人员为相关学生群体提供外联与辅导服务。相关学生群体包括亚裔、太平洋岛国、印度裔、西班牙/拉丁美洲裔、印第安人、中东/阿拉伯与中东/北非学生;还包括同性恋、双性恋、变性人、酷儿和对性别有疑问的学生(包括对LGBTQ中心的监管)。工作人员也负责监管多元文化学生中心,这是一个学生聚会场地,将扩建并移位至Newcomb楼二层。这个新场地将于2019年秋季学期开放。

宿舍与住宿生活

该部门由学生处与弗大经济运行处共同管理,为所有住在校内的学生(本科与研究生)、教职员工和参加学术会议的人员提供住宿方面的服务和管理。管理着2百万多平方尺的住宿面积,该部门致力于为弗大营造一个良好的生活、学术与文化环境。具体的生活与学习项目包括沉浸式外语楼、三大住宿学院、综合大一新生体验以及为大二和转学生提供的特别项目。

宿管处为自己特有的管理方式骄傲,这种方式植根于学生自治精神,由学生担任的宿管人员作为学生们的领导和帮助来源。详情请见宿管人员住宿生活网页。

学生参与

这个部门给学生提供一系列参与的机会,培养学生的自治、领导、发展、社区服务和享受生活的能力。学生参与部支持近700个学生组织,包括学生会、弗大项目会和弗大选举理事会。

学生参与部也支持蓝图领导项目和女生领导力发展项目。前者特别培养大一大二和转学来的学生,后者旨在鼓励有潜力的女生参与弗大能够展现领导力的各种活动。

弗大各种丰富生活的活动多种多样。详情请见公民领导学生社团网页。

兄弟会与姐妹会生活

学生处的工作人员以及校友会和总部的工作人员与四个独立的兄弟姐妹会的管理组织紧密合作。其中很多私人组织拥有并运营弗大周围的兄弟姐妹的房子。

兄弟姐妹会生活是校董会2001年成立的项目,旨在教育兄弟姐妹会的学生培养学术、领导力、服务、多元与荣誉精神。

详情请见兄弟姐妹会网页。

入学培训与新生项目

这一部门的团队成员们与弗大其它部门合作为新生和转学生举办暑期入学培训和秋季欢迎来到弗大的活动。该部门在学年中间也与各部门与项目,比如家庭周末和服务项目合作。后者是一个社区服务项目,可以向新生介绍各种服务夏洛茨维尔的机会。

Newcomb楼

作为学校各种活动的中心,Newcomb楼为社交、思想探索和娱乐提供了一个舒适的互动空间。Newcomb楼也是大学生时常光顾的地方,策划或参加活动或典礼, 买零食或吃饭,或是到休息室放松。

除了会议室、休息室、多个食堂、一个星巴克咖啡馆、一个剧院、一个便利店和一个游戏厅以外,其他服务包括:

  • 学生处主任办公室:兄弟会姐妹会、学生参与和多元文化学生服务。
  • 多元文化中心:LGBTQ中心及拉丁学生聚会场所
  • 《骑士日报》编辑部
  • 学生会、年级理事会、荣誉委员会和学校司法委员会办公室;以及弗大项目会、艺术理事会和文化项目理事会的办公室
  • 信息中心
  • 票务办公室
  • 邮局
  • 美国银行(办理全部业务)
  • 富国银行自动取款机,二层

Corner上的1515

除了Newcomb楼以外,学生还可以在校园找到越来越多专为他们设计的场所。其中最新的一处位于Corner,叫1515,开放于2017年春季。这座面积为一万五千英尺的三层建筑包括表演与排练场地、一个游戏与休息区、一个售卖精制甜点的餐厅、一些会议室以及供学生们随意聚集和休憩的空间。这座不允许酒精进入的建筑是弗大社区的自然延伸,欢迎所有的学生。学期中这里开门至凌晨,已经成为学生在教室以外非常喜欢光顾的场所。

Navigation

Search This Site

Dean of Students

As a part of the Division of Student Affairs, the Office of the Dean of Students (ODOS) works with individual students, student organizations, families, and faculty members to provide information, advice, and assistance in addressing student concerns; responds to incidents involving students; and supports the overall student experience.

The main office is located in Peabody Hall and includes the following units located elsewhere on Grounds: Orientation & New Student Programs; Housing & Residence Life; Student Engagement; Fraternity and Sorority Life; Multicultural Student Services; and several student activity spaces, including Newcomb Hall, 1515 student center on the Corner, Ern Commons, the Student Activities Building, Runk Green Room, and others.

Associate/assistant deans provide incident response support for students in a variety of behavioral and mental health contexts and also engage in general advising and troubleshooting of student issues and needs.

The Dean-on-Call program, providing 24/7 support for students and incident response within the University community, is managed from Peabody Hall, as is the Parent Help Line. Parents may contact the Dean-on-Call after hours by calling the University Police at 434.924.7166. See Key Contacts for other key phone numbers and email addresses.

The Peabody Hall office collaborates with the Title IX office in providing support services for students involved with reports of sexual and gender-based violence. ODOS deans also lead prevention initiatives as well as investigation and follow-up on reports of bias and hazing. See the Just Report It website.

Multicultural Student Support

Staff in this area provide outreach and advising to identified populations, including Asian, Pacific Islander, and Desi-American students; Hispanic/Latinx students; Native American/Indigenous students; Middle Eastern/North African students; and lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer, and questioning students (including oversight of the LGBTQ Center). The staff also oversee the Multicultural Student Center, a gathering space for students, which will be expanded and relocated to the second floor of Newcomb Hall. The newly renovated space is expected to open in fall 2019.

Housing & Residence Life

Jointly managed by the Office of the Dean of Students and University Business Operations, this unit provides services and programmatic direction for all on-Grounds residential students (undergraduate and graduate), faculty, staff, and conference guests. With more than 2 million square feet of residential space, HRL strives to create inclusive environments that support the academic, cultural, and social goals of the University. Specific living and learning programs include language immersion houses, three residential colleges, a comprehensive first-year experience, and specialized programming for second-year students and transfer students.

HRL prides itself on maintaining a residential program firmly rooted in the spirit of student self-governance, with Resident Staff members serving as peer leaders and a support resource for their fellow students. Learn more about Resident Staff and Housing & Residence Life.

Student Engagement

This unit provides students with a variety of involvement opportunities that support self-governance, promote leadership development skills, cultivate community, and encourage fun. Student Engagement supports nearly 700 student organizations, including Student Council, University Programs Council, and University Board of Elections.

Student Engagement also supports Blueprint Leadership Program, an emerging leaders program geared toward first- and second-year students and transfer students, and Women’s Leadership Development Program, designed to encourage undergraduate women who demonstrate great potential to explore the wide range of leadership opportunities available to them at UVA.

Opportunities to engage in student life abound at the University. For highlights, see Citizen Leadership and Student Organizations and Activities.

Fraternity and Sorority Life

Staff members work closely with the four independent Greek governing councils and their respective chapters, as well as alumni/ae and general headquarters staff. Many of these private organizations own and operate residential houses near the University.

FSL was founded in 2001 by an initiative of the Board of Visitors to educate and support students in recognized chapters by promoting principles of scholarship, leadership, service, diversity, and honor.

More information about the Fraternity and Sorority Community.

Orientation & New Student Programs

Team members in this unit work with other University departments to implement Summer Orientation and Fall "Wahoo Welcome" for first-year and new transfer students. ONSP also coordinates other programs, events, and services throughout the academic year, including Family Weekend, and Project SERVE, a community service program that introduces new students to service opportunities in Charlottesville.

Newcomb Hall

As the hub for student activities at UVA, Newcomb Hall provides opportunities for social, intellectual, and recreational exploration in a comfortable, interactive environment. Undergraduate students frequently spend time at Newcomb, whether planning or attending an event, getting a bite to eat, or relaxing in one of the lounge areas.

In addition to meeting spaces, lounges, multiple dining facilities, a Starbucks coffee shop, a theater, and a convenience store, other student services at Newcomb include:

  • Office of the Dean of Students units: Fraternity and Sorority Life, Student Engagement, and Multicultural Student Services
  • Multicultural Student Center, LGBTQ Center, and gathering space for Latinx students
  • The Cavalier Daily office
  • Student Council, Class Councils, Honor Committee, and University Judiciary Committee offices, and home for the University Programs Council, Arts Board, and the Cultural Programming Board
  • Information Center
  • Event Ticket Office
  • U.S. Post Office
  • Bank of America full-service bank
  • Wells Fargo ATM, second floor

1515 on the Corner

In addition to Newcomb Hall, students will find an increasing number of spaces devoted to their use on the Grounds. The newest student space, 1515 on the Corner, opened in spring 2017. This three-story, 15,000-square-foot building features performance and rehearsal space, a game and lounge area, a gourmet dessert café, meeting rooms, and space for students to socialize and relax. The building is a natural extension of the University community, inclusive for all students, and alcohol-free. Open into the early morning hours when school is in session, 1515 has become a magnet for student life outside the classroom.

More information
http://odos.virginia.edu