chinese.parenthandbook.virginia.edu

兄弟会与姐妹会

 

自1852年起,以希腊字母为标识的兄弟会就成为了我校学生生活中充满活力的一部分。1927年我校第一个姐妹会建立。兄弟会与姐妹会为同学们提供了组织领导、自我发展、拓展人脉、服务社区的大量机会。

我校约有30%的学生是兄弟会或姐妹会的成员。这些兄弟会和姐妹会的组织及其活动由四个统管机构管理:

  • 兄弟会管理委员会(IFC)
  • 姐妹会管理委员会(ISC)
  • 多元文化协会管理委员会(MGC)
  • 非裔兄弟姐妹会管理委员会(NPHC)

兄弟姐妹会生活管理处(FSL)

FSL设在学生处,作为兄弟会/姐妹会与大学的联系机构。FSL帮助同学们建立新组织,并促进其经费、管理、服务、荣誉等各项制度的完善。本科生社团与大学之间的关系由学生协会组织协议(Fraternal Organization Agreement)约束。

 更多信息
http://www.virginia.edu/fsl

兄弟会管理委员会(IFC)

兄弟会管理委员会负责管理我校总人数约为1900人的共32个兄弟会。

该委员会的执委会由12名选举产生的委员组成。除了制定与执行兄弟会的主要方针以外,该委员会同时也是兄弟会成员之间与其它兄弟会之间和整个大学社区之间的沟通媒介。

兄弟会招新

兄弟会招新指的是兄弟会正式面向全校学生吸纳新成员的时期,时间是在每年一月份(春季学期)。除次之外,在每年的九月末,高年级学生与转学生可通过非正式的招新进入兄弟会。

春季招新持续两周,包括各种强化“手足情谊”的活动。按照规定,所有活动都将于午夜前结束,参与者禁止饮酒。参与招新的同学未必会被兄弟会吸收为成员。所有的活动与招新过程都在双方自愿的前提下进行。招新活动是新人接触志同道合的同龄人,并最终成为其“兄弟”的过程。

兄弟会会费

各家兄弟会的会费不尽相同,平均每学期为800到1000美元,期中包括了宿舍与伙食费。兄弟会的食宿费用通常远远低于学校或私人机构。不同的兄弟会对会费的用途也有不同。一般来说至少有100美元用于各自全国总会的保险。其余大部分的费用为“客厅费”,即会员使用兄弟会建筑内公共空间的费用。 各兄弟会的全国总会也会收取部分会费用于社会活动等等。全国总会通过拨款、借款等方式支持其支部的财务。

 更多信息
http://virginiaifc.com

姐妹会管理委员会(ISC)

姐妹会管理委员会负责全校16个姐妹会,并作为后者在学校的代表,解决校园生活中的问题。该委员会的宗旨是促进女性权益、领导力以及服务社团与校园社区。姐妹会要求其成员保持良好的学习成绩,每个姐妹会都设有成员学业最低分数线。每个姐妹会都有着一个成绩优异、学术涉猎广泛的成员群体。姐妹会在内部以及在管理委员会层面都为成员们提供了锻炼其领导能力的机会。除此之外,各姐妹会在每个学年至少进行一次社区服务或慈善项目。

更多信息
http://virginiaisc.com

姐妹会招新

本校女生可以通过参加招新而成为姐妹会的一员。正式的招新活动于一月份开始,包括四轮活动:“初次见面会”回合、“慈善活动”回合、“体验姐妹会之家”回合、“姐妹会密语”回合。活动的每一步都让候选同学与不同的姐妹会成员充分交流,增进了解。招新活动大约持续7天,在此期间不断淘汰人员。

此外,在秋季学期姐妹会将举行非正式招新,吸纳大二、大三学生以及转学生。

姐妹会会费

与兄弟会一样,姐妹会的会费也高低不一。新会员需缴纳入会费,因此其会费高于老会员。食宿费用也视各姐妹会具体规定而定。

姐妹会的平均会费约为每学期800到1000美元。在招新过程中,具体的会费信息会向全校女生公布。

多元文化协会管理委员会(MGC)

多元文化协会管理委员会促进其子社团的社工活动、增进领导力以及学术能力。其子社团宗旨是为校园与本地社区服务。这些社团全年都会安排交流会。此外,一些社团赞助与大学生活各方面相关的培训项目。目前MGC有拉美裔、亚裔、LGBT以及对多元文化兄感兴趣的兄弟会与姐妹会。其子社团不得有种族歧视或任何形式的歧视。MGC下属社团欢迎所有重视多元文化的同学们加入。

全国非裔兄弟姐妹会委员会(NPHC)

全国非裔兄弟姐妹会委员会是各个前身为 “黑字组织(Black Greek letter organizations)”社团的管理机构,其宗旨是促进各子社团实现立会目标。

各子社团在校内外开展社区服务项目、论坛、演出等活动实现各自立会目标。“黑字组织”以社区服务为其主要目标。这些社团在校内没有社团房屋,但以立会目标团结会员。各子社团不得有种族歧视或任何形式的歧视。黑人学生不仅限于参加全国非裔兄弟姐妹会委员会的下属社团,同样其他族裔学生也不限于参加ISC/IFC所属社团。凡是关心社区发展、平均绩点达到最低要求的同学,皆可参加这些社团。

前身为“黑字组织”的社团,其成员来自不同的种族、社会、政治、经济背景。各社团会费不同。具体情况会在交流会上公布。

加入多元文化协会管理委员会(MGC)与非裔兄弟姐妹会管理委员会(NPHC)所属兄弟会/姐妹会

多元文化协会管理委员会(MGC)与非裔兄弟姐妹会管理委员会(NPHC)所属兄弟姐妹会不参与正式招新活动。各子社团组织非正式的交流会吸收新成员。春季学期与秋季学期都有新会籍发放,视具体社团而定。对此有兴趣的同学应参加社工项目、论坛等活动,从而具体了解这些兄弟姐妹会。

更多信息
兄弟会与姐妹会列表

parenthandbook.virginia.edu

The Fraternity/Sorority Community

 

Since 1852, Greek-letter fraternities have been an active part of University life. Sororities arrived at the University in 1927. Fraternities and sororities provide opportunities for leadership, self-development, friendship, and service to the greater community. Philanthropy and community service play a large role in the fraternity and sorority community.

About 30 percent of the UVA student body is a part of the fraternity/sorority community. Four umbrella organizations govern and support all active fraternity and sorority chapters at the University:

  • Inter-Fraternity Council
  • Inter-Sorority Council
  • Multicultural Greek Council
  • National Pan-Hellenic Council

Fraternity and Sorority Life (FSL)

Fraternity and Sorority Life, based in the Office of the Dean of Students, serves as the University’s liaison to the fraternity and sorority community. FSL helps students build organizations that promote the principles of scholarship, leadership, service, and honor. The relationship between the undergraduate chapters and the University is defined through the Fraternal Organization Agreement (FOA).

For more information
http://www.virginia.edu/fsl

Inter-Fraternity Council (IFC)

The Inter-Fraternity Council is the governing board for 32 social fraternities and approximately 1,900 men at the University. Twelve members are elected to serve on the Executive Committee of the IFC. In addition to developing and enforcing all policies related to fraternity life, the IFC serves as an intermediary between fraternity members, fraternities, and the University community.

Inter-Fraternity Recruitment (Rush)

Fraternity recruitment is the formal period when prospective fraternity men can join a fraternity. Formal recruitment takes place in January during the spring semester and is open to all men at the University. Additionally, there is a brief informal recruitment period in late September for upperclassmen and transfer students.

Spring Recruitment lasts two weeks, with activities emphasizing various aspects of brotherhood. All recruitment events are required to conclude before midnight, and alcohol is prohibited. A man’s decision to participate in recruitment in no way binds him to join a fraternity. Every event and each phase of recruitment is a voluntary commitment. Recruitment is a chance for a young man to meet a large number of his peers and potentially join a group of friends who eventually will become his brothers.

Fraternity Costs

While costs vary from chapter to chapter, the average dues are generally between $800 and $1,000 per semester. It is important to remember that membership also allows access to housing and meal plans, which are usually much less expensive than those offered by the University or private businesses. The breakdown of dues varies greatly from chapter to chapter. At least $100 goes to insurance from the Inter/National Fraternity. A large portion of dues is a “parlor fee,” which is similar to rent for the common areas of a fraternity house. The Inter/National Fraternity also requires a one-time initiation fee. A portion of the dues also goes toward social events. Many national fraternities offer financial assistance to their members through scholarships and loans.

 For more information
http://virginiaifc.com

Inter-Sorority Council (ISC)

The Inter-Sorority Council is the organization that presides over the 16 inter/national sororities at the University, represents them to the administration and community, and takes on issues pertinent to University life. The goal of the Inter-Sorority Council is to promote women, leadership, and service in the fraternity and sorority community and in the University community. Sororities require their members to maintain high academic standards, and each chapter has a required minimum grade point average. Each sorority has sisters with a wide array of academic experiences and majors. Sororities also provide leadership opportunities, both within the chapter itself and within the Inter-Sorority Council’s executive committee and governing board. At least once an academic year, each chapter sponsors a service project or philanthropy program to benefit its national philanthropy.

Sorority Recruitment

University women participate in Recruitment to become a member of an ISC sorority. The Formal Recruitment process begins in January. It is composed of four rounds: Round Robins, Philanthropy, House Tours, and Preferentials. The different rounds of Recruitment give potential new members opportunities to meet sisters of the individual chapters and to become familiar with the various chapter personalities. Recruitment lasts for approximately seven days, and during this period, potential new members and chapters will narrow their choices.

Additionally, informal recruitment occurs in the fall semester; second- and third-year students and transfer students are eligible to participate in informal recruitment.

Sorority Costs

Like fraternities, costs of sororities vary. The new member semester is usually the most expensive, due to new member initiation fees. Meal and housing requirements also vary for each chapter.

On average, membership dues range from $800 to $1,500 per semester. Specific information on membership costs is provided to all women during the sorority recruitment process.

 For more information
http://virginiaisc.com

Multicultural Greek Council (MGC)

The Multicultural Greek Council promotes service events, leadership, and and scholarship. Member organizations stress their commitment to the University and Charlottesville communities. Information sessions about the fraternities and sororities are held throughout the year. Additionally, individual organizations sponsor and co-sponsor educational programs regarding all facets of college life. The MGC currently consists of Latino, Asian, LGBT, and multicultural interest fraternities and sororities. Member organizations of the MGC do not discriminate on the basis of race or any other identity. Membership is open to all University students who recognize diversity as a priority.

National Pan-Hellenic Council (NPHC)

The National Pan-Hellenic Council is the umbrella organization for the historically Black Greek letter organizations (BGLOs). The mission of the National Pan-Hellenic Council is to promote the ideals and standards upon which their respective organizations were founded.

Member organizations carry out this mission through joint action and events, such as community service projects, forums, and step-shows within the University and Charlottesville community.

BGLOs focus on community service as a primary principle. They do not have houses on Grounds, but maintain their sense of unity by relying on their founding principles and bonds they develop. Member organizations of the National Pan-Hellenic Council do not discriminate on the basis of race or any other identity. Black students are not limited to sororities and fraternities under the National Pan-Hellenic Council, just as non-black students are not limited to rushing only ISC/IFC organizations.

Membership is available to all University students with the minimum GPA requirements (varies by organization) who view service and betterment of the community as priorities.

Historically Black Greek letter organizations are very diverse and include members from a wide variety of racial, social, political, and economic backgrounds. Dues vary by organization. Details are discussed at the information sessions.

Joining an MGC or NPHC Fraternity or Sorority

NPHC and MGC groups do not participate in a formal recruitment process. Each member organization individually holds informational sessions where interested women and men are introduced to the organization and its members. The Membership Intake Process takes place during both fall and spring semesters, depending on the organization. Interested students should attend various events, such as service projects, forums, and programs, to learn more about individual organizations.

For more information
Chart of UVa Fraternities and Sororities