chinese.parenthandbook.virginia.edu

弗大用语

 

为什么他们是大一学生却不是新生?想要找到the Corner?如果你听到弗吉尼亚的学生们在说一种新奇的语言,这个指南会为你揭晓所有谜底。

A-School: A学院:建筑学院的简称

Academical Village: 学院村:由弗吉尼亚大学师生和工作人员组成的社区。学院村的理念完全体现了杰克逊总统的办学理想,即把生活和学习紧密地联系在一起。大草坪(the Lawn)就是根据这个想法建成的,教员住在大草坪两侧较大的房子(叫:Pavilions)里,学生们则住在大草坪两侧较小的宿舍里,学院村的中心则为著名的圆顶礼堂(Rotunda),原为学校图书馆。

AFC: 水上运动与健身中心的简称:位于Alderman路宿舍区的对面,配备心肺和力量训练的器材、室内跑道、篮球场、团体健身室、大温泉和奥运规模的游泳池等设施。

Arts$Arts Dollars: 艺术金:一部分的学生活动经费将提供给每个全日制的学位生网上预订一张参与校内各式艺术类的表演或展览的免费门票,包括戏剧系、McIntire音乐系、弗吉尼亚电影节。艺术金使学生可以免费注册成为Fralin美术馆的成员。更多信息请查询 arts.virginia.edu/resources-opportunities/arts-dollars

Association Dean: 辅导员: 文理学院根据住宿位置或参与项目(例如Echos奖学金获得者)给所有已注册的大一学生分配一名辅导员,为学生提供相应的学术指导。辅导员主要负责提供学业方面的建议,包括学业规划、提供多渠道的资源。学生在就读文理学院之间,其辅导员保持不变。

Beta Bridge: 贝塔桥:是Rugby路上专门为学生们涂鸦的一座桥,用来传递信息或公告。

Carr’s Hill: 卡尔山:大学校长的住所。位于Rugby路  “Mad Bowl”体育场对面。

The CD: CD日报:骑士日报的简称。是弗大的校报,由校内经营和学生出版发行。订阅邮件版本请登录www.cavalierdaily.com.

Collab:弗大课业网:为大学课程管理网站。通过使用Collab,学生可以浏览课程大纲、分享资源或参与课程相关活动。Collab也可为课题组、研究组和各类组织建造一个共享的网络空间。

COLAs: 考拉讨论课:这些一学分的讨论课只有秋季学期可选,每周一次,每课时为75分钟。只有新生可以选,人数控制在18以下。所有选修这门课的学生都将以该课程讲师作为其低年级期间的辅导教授(该课程只向文理学院的学生开放)。

The College: 文理学院:文理学院也常简称为CLAS或ASU(在SIS系统中)。

The Colonnades: 位于Lambeth公寓(Lambeth操场为草场)后边。当初为修复这里而举办的一些筹款舞会叫Colonnades,修复后此地也因此得名。一些俱乐部体育赛事偶尔在此举办。

Comm School: McIntire商学院的简称,本科商学院。

The Corner: 弗大角:位于学府街,为享受美食和饮品的好去处,不但为美食一条街,还有一些学生们最爱的购物店。

E School: 工学院:工程学院和科学院的简称。

Ed School: Curry教育学院。

First-Year, Second-Year, Third-Year, Fourth-Year: 大一、大二、大三、大四:弗大不象其他大学一样管大一生叫”新生“,管大四生叫”老生“,而是按年级称呼他们。为什么?这是因为叫一个学生为”老生“似乎意味着他已经完成了学业,到达了学习过程的终点,而建校的杰弗逊先生认为学无止境,一个人永远不会到达学习的终点,而应该活到老学到老。

“Good Old Song”: ”友谊地久天长“:弗吉尼亚大学传统校歌。与歌曲“友谊地久天长”音调一致。

Grounds: 相当于”校园“:可是弗大师生和校友从不用一般的“校园”,而用直译为”地面“/ "地盘”的Grounds来指校内的地方。

Gusburger: 汉堡包肉饼加煎蛋和培根:弗吉尼亚大学传统食物,可以在the Corner品尝到。

Lawnie: 草坪人:形容住在大草坪两边宿舍里的学生。申请人通过递交宿舍申请,根据平均成绩、学生活动参与程度以及为学校做出的贡献为衡量标准进行挑选。学生申请的居住期限为本科毕业的最后一年。宿舍区为54个单人间组成,无空调,提供一张床、一套桌椅、水槽、书架、衣柜、摇椅、火炉用具。除了50号东屋,所有房间配有壁炉。

Mad Bowl: 疯狂碗:Rugby路Rotunda建筑对面一片低于地面的体育场。一些学校里的体育俱乐部经常在这里举办比赛。Mad Bowl运动场也是一个学习、玩飞盘,或者打雪仗的好去处。

Mem Gym: 纪念碑健身馆:弗吉尼亚大学最悠久的健身馆的简称。

Nova: 北维:弗吉尼亚州北部一些城市的统称。从那些城市来的学生不说“我来自Alexandria 或 McLean”, 而是说“我来自北维(Nova:北弗/维吉尼亚)”。

Pav: 全称为Pavillion十四,餐厅位于Newcomb楼一层。

QuikPay @ UVA: “弗大快付”:校内电子账单付费系统。学费账单和其他花费为电子系统生成的电子账单;纸质的账单和税务单不寄送给家长或学生。学生可以在QuikPay @UVA里设定父母为指定付款人。

The Record: 目录:这个网络刊物逐条罗列了学术和非学术方面的学生规章制度,还包括每个学院的课程概括。共有两个版本:本科生目录和研究生目录。目录网址 http://record.ureg.virginia.edu

Ring Ceremony: 颁戒仪式:与家庭周末和大学中期荣誉颁发典礼同时进行,仪式聚集了大三学生和他们的家庭成员,一起庆祝大学里欢聚一堂的美好时光。

Rugby Road: Rugby路:虽然一些兄弟姐妹会散布在其他街道,但Rugby路被指为兄弟姐妹会之家。

SIS: 学生信息系统的简称,学生们用来注册课程、查询成绩和学生账户。更多信息请登录www.virginia.edu/sis

“Dr.”头衔的使用:这是一个古老的习俗,在西欧和美国,只有拥有医学位的人被尊称为“Doctor”;而拥有博士学位的人则被尊称为"先生、女士、太太或小姐”。弗吉尼亚大学是保留此传统的少数大学之一。

USEMs: 大学讨论课:只为大一新生准备的小课堂。学生数不超过18,授课老师由不同学科的杰出教师组成。

VIRGO: 弗吉尼亚大学图书馆网上查阅目录,登录www.library.virginia.edu

Wahoos and Hoos: 除了骑士,另一个用来称呼弗吉尼亚大学学生们的昵称。

Zs, Ravens, 7s, IMPs, Purple Shadows, P.U.M.P.K.I.N., etc.: 一些校园内协会的名称,协会大多数为慈善机构。其中一些为公开社团,一些为秘密协会。

Navigation

Search This Site

University Lingo

 

Wondering why they are first-years, not freshmen? Want to find the Corner? If you hear your UVa student speaking a new language, this guide may help with the translation.

A-School: Short for the School of Architecture.

Academical Village: The community of UVa students, faculty, and staff, the Academical Village is the basis of Thomas Jefferson’s idea that living and learning are connected. The Lawn is built around this concept with faculty living in the Pavilions and students in the Lawn rooms, with the Rotunda — formerly the University library — at its heart.

AFC: Short for the Aquatic & Fitness Center, the AFC is located across from the Alderman Road residence area. The facility features cardiovascular and weight-training equipment, an indoor track, basketball court, group exercise rooms, an enormous hot tub, and an Olympic-size pool, among other amenities.

Arts$ or Arts Dollars: A portion of the Student Activity Fee gives each full-time, degree-seeking student the opportunity to reserve one complimentary ticket online for various arts-related events around the Grounds. This includes most events presented by the Department of Drama, McIntire Department of Music, and the Virginia Film Festival. Arts$ also enable students to register for a free student membership to the Fralin Museum of Art. For more information, please see http://arts.virginia.edu/resources-opportunities/arts-dollars.

Association Dean: First-year students who enroll in the College of Arts & Sciences are assigned an association dean for academic advising based on where they live or the program in which they are enrolled (Echols, for example). The association dean’s primary responsibilities are to advise on academic matters, to help with an academic plan, and to provide resources for other avenues of assistance. Students keep the same association dean for as long as they remain in the College.

Beta Bridge: Bridge on Rugby Road that students frequently paint to publicize events or display messages.

Carr’s Hill: The home of UVa’s president. Carr’s Hill is located across Rugby Road from the sports field known as “Mad Bowl.”

The CD: a.k.a. The Cavalier Daily or the Cav Daily, the CD is the University’s newspaper run and produced by students. Sign up to receive the email edition at www.cavalierdaily.com.

Collab: UVaCollab is the University’s online course management software. Students use it to access their course syllabi, share resources, and do many other class-related activities. They also may use Collab to create a shared Web space for project teams, research groups, and organizations.

COLAs: COLA courses are one-credit, graded seminars that meet once each week for 75 minutes in the fall semester. Enrollment is capped at 18 first-year students, all of whom are assigned to the instructor for their lower-division advising. (For College of Arts & Sciences students only.)

The College: The College of Arts & Sciences, often abbreviated as CLAS or ASU (in SIS).

The Colonnades: Situated behind Lambeth Apartments (Lambeth Field is the grassy area), the Colonnades have been restored and are the namesake for several formal dances that were used to fund the restoration. Some club sports play here occasionally.

Comm School: Short for the McIntire School of Commerce, the undergraduate business school.

The Corner: Located on University Avenue, the Corner is the strip of restaurants and shops that is a favorite spot for food and drink for UVa students.

E School: Short for the School of Engineering and Applied Science.

Ed School: Short for the Curry School of Education.

First-Year, Second-Year, Third-Year, Fourth-Year: Instead of freshman, sophomore, junior, senior, students are referred to by their year of study at the University. Why? To be a “senior” implies that a person has reached the final phase of learning, a feat that Mr. Jefferson believed impossible, arguing instead that education is a lifelong process.

“Good Old Song”: UVa’s alma mater. It is sung to the tune of “Auld Lang Syne.”

Grounds: The term used by students, faculty, and alumni to refer to the University. “Campus” is never used.

Gusburger: A University tradition: one hamburger patty with a fried egg and bacon, served at a favorite Corner spot.

Lawnie: The term referring to students who live on the Lawn. Selection of Lawn residents, a peer process, is by application and is based on GPA, activities, and service to the University. Students can apply to live on the Lawn during their final year of undergraduate study at the University. Each of the 54 single, nonair-conditioned Lawn rooms is furnished with a bed, desk and chair, sink, bookcase, wardrobe, rocking chair, and fire tools. All except one (50 East Lawn) have fireplaces.

Mad Bowl: The sunken field across the street from the Rotunda on Rugby Road. Some club sports teams use this space for games. Mad Bowl is a great place to study, play Frisbee, or have a snowball fight!

Mem Gym: The shortened name for the University’s oldest gym facility, Memorial Gymnasium.

Nova: The term that most students hailing from Northern Virginia use to describe where they are from. Instead of saying, “I am from Alexandria or McLean,” students more often will say, “I am from Nova.”

Pav: The term given to Pavilion XI, the food court located on the first floor of Newcomb Hall.

QuikPay@UVA: The University’s e-billing and payment system. Billing statements for tuition and other charges are generated electronically; paper bills and tax forms are not sent to the student or parent. Students can set up their parents as authorized payers in QuikPay@UVA (see Financial Topics).

The Record: This online publication details student regulations and policies, both academic and nonacademic, and it includes course descriptions for each school. Two versions are available: The Undergraduate Record and The Graduate Record. Find The Record at http://records.ureg.virginia.edu.

Ring Ceremony: Held in conjunction with Family Weekend and the awarding of Intermediate Honors, the Ring Ceremony brings together third-year students and their families for a program celebrating their time at the University.

Rugby Road: Rugby Road is often used to refer to the home of fraternity and sorority life at UVa, although there are houses located on other streets as well.

SIS: The abbreviation for the Student Information System, which is used by students to register for classes and to maintain academic records and student accounts. Students connect to SIS by going to www.virginia.edu/sis.

Use of the title “Dr.”: There is an ancient academic custom, in Western Europe and in the United States, that only persons holding the M.D. degree are addressed as “Doctor”; holders of the Ph.D. thus are addressed as “Mr., Ms., Mrs., or Miss.” The University of Virginia is one of the few schools in this country still holding to this custom.

USEMs: University Seminars are small classes for first-year students only. They are capped at 18 students each and are taught by various prominent faculty from an array of disciplines.

VIRGO: The University Library’s online search catalog, available at www.library.virginia.edu.

Wahoos and Hoos: An alternative name for the Cavaliers or the students at the University of Virginia.

Zs, Ravens, 7s, IMPs, Purple Shadows, P.U.M.P.K.I.N., etc.: These are just a few of the societies on Grounds, most of which are philanthropic organizations. In some instances, members are known, but in others, members’ names are kept secret.