Navigation

搜索本站

常见问题解答

我给孩子信件的地址怎么填写?

您可以在http://hms.housing.virginia.edu/addresses网站上查询您的孩子的邮寄地址。下面的说明也将帮助您把信件更快地投递到孩子手中。 

邮件服务如何运作?

学生在每个住宿区内都有按照房间号分配的信箱。每个住宿区附近都设有一间收信室。住宿生活中心管理着六个主要收信室,将信件分送到各住宿区,也提供包裹签收处代收通过UPS,联邦快递,优先邮递邮寄的物件以及保证邮件(经公证及保险邮件)。收信室不接受给据邮件,货到付款的包裹,或者欠资邮件。

  • Emmet收信室是住在McCormick住宿区的包裹提取处。
  • Shannon收信室是一个包裹提取处。
  • Runk 收信室为Gooch/Dillard住宿区、Hereford住宿学院、Johnson楼、Malone楼和Weedon楼的包裹提取处。
  • Bice楼、Copeley 三号四号楼、Faulkner 公寓楼、Lambeth 公寓楼、国际住宿学院和语言楼都在楼内或楼附近设有信箱和包裹提取处。
  • 住在Brown住宿学院的学生在Newcomb楼的邮局收取邮件。
  • 所有住在大草坪两侧荣誉住宿区(the Lawn, the Range)的学生直接接受邮局服务。

有哪些洗衣设施和服务?

校内住宿区域都设有洗衣设备。大一住宿区域的洗衣房在以下宿舍楼或其他建筑的底楼:Dabney和Metcalf(McCormick住宿区);Balz-Dobie,Cauthen, Kellogg, Lile-Maupin, Shannon,Tuttle-Dunnington, Watson-Webb(Alderman住宿区);Runk餐厅(Hereford住宿学院);Gooch, Gwathmey, Munford(国际住宿学院);Gildersleeve(Brown住宿学院)。洗衣机与烘干机只接受学生卡内的校园骑士金。更多关于校园骑士金的信息,请见 学生财务话题

自动售货机呢?

宿舍楼里也有自动售货机,接受硬币和学生卡骑士金。

所有的宿舍楼都有无线网络吗?

是的,所有学生宿舍、学校图书馆、校园、以及基本上所有的教室里都有无线网覆盖。但是跟手机信号一样,无线网的覆盖或许也存在盲区。如果学生处于用户较多的地点,或者进行观看视频或聊天等大流量操作时,无线网的速度较慢。学生应考虑自备网线,条件允许时可以使用网线上网,更加快速和稳定。

弗大有什么关于室内装饰的规定?

若想对自己的寝室进行个性化装饰,学生应提前计划好。易燃(比如没有装框的海报)装饰物的面积不得超过墙面面积的10%。窗帘、延长线和蜡烛都是严格禁止的。详情请见弗大住宿网站的“有关装饰的规定”。

如果我的孩子有特别的健康状况与特殊需要怎么办?

因健康状况或残疾有特殊居住要求的学生必须向弗大学生健康中心所属的残疾学生帮助中心(SDAC)递交申请书和相关证明文件。大一住宿区有很多宿舍配有空调,因健康问题需要空调房间的学生必须出示由家庭医生开具的书面请求说明原因。

若学生因健康问题需要使用任何一种针头,可在学生健康中心药店购买一个红色的“Sharps A-Gator”针箱,妥善处理注射器。

如果我的孩子放假期间不能回家怎么办?可以继续住在宿舍吗?

大一新生可以在感恩节和春假期间留住宿舍。大一宿舍区每年寒假关闭。如果大一学生注册寒假课程,则可以再寒假课程开始前一天回到宿舍。

高年级宿舍,包括所有住宿学院,寒假期间保持开放。

如果想继续住在校园宿舍应办理什么手续?

学生会在秋季学期收到弗大住宿部的消息。2016年11月4日的家庭周末的周六也会举办宿舍开放日,为继续留住学校宿舍的学生提供申请指导,也为家长和学生提供了解高年级住宿选择的机会。住宿部网站会公布申请校内宿舍的截止日期。 

如果学生下一个学年会住在同一个房间,暑假期间可以把东西留住宿舍吗?

不可以。学校会利用暑期进行修理和维护,举办会议,为上暑期班的学生提供住宿,所以会用到绝大多数校内宿舍。因此暑期把东西留住宿舍是不可能的。

我的孩子如何成为一名宿管人员?

学生升入大二即可申请。遴选过程包括审阅申请材料和两轮面试。有兴趣的学生应该关注住宿部的网站,了解秋季学期末和1月份举行的相关信息介绍会。

parenthandbook.virginia.edu

Frequently Asked Questions

 

How do I address mail to my student?

For your first-year student living on Grounds, you can look up the mailing address at http://hms.housing.virginia.edu/addresses. Following these instructions will help expedite the delivery.

How does mail service work?

All residence areas have mailboxes assigned to students according to room number. A mailroom is located near each residence area. Housing & Residence Life manages six mailrooms to disseminate mail to most residential areas and to provide a point for package pickup for items sent through UPS, FedEx Express Mail, Priority Mail, and for accountable mail (certified and insured). The mailrooms will not receive registered, COD, or postage-due mail.

  • The Emmet mailroom serves as a package pickup point for residents living in the McCormick Road Residence Area.
  • The Shannon mailroom serves as a package pickup point for residents living in the Alderman Road Residence Area.
  • The Runk mailroom serves as a package pickup point for residents living in Gooch/Dillard, Hereford College, and Johnson, Malone, and Weedon.
  • Residents of Bice House, Copeley III and IV, Faulkner Apartments, Lambeth Field Apartments, the International Residential College, and the language houses have mailboxes and satellite package pickup locations in or near their residence areas.
  • Residents of Brown College receive mail at the U.S. Postal Service office in Newcomb Hall.
  • U.S. Mail service is provided for all occupants of the Lawn and the Range.

What laundry facilities are available?

Laundry facilities are located throughout University housing areas. In the first-year residences, they are located on the ground floors of Dabney and Metcalf (McCormick Road Residence Area); Balz-Dobie, Cauthen, Gibbons, Kellogg, Lile-Maupin, Shannon, Tuttle-Dunnington, and Watson-Webb (Alderman Road Residence Area); Runk Hall (Hereford College); Gooch; Gwathmey and Munford (International Residential College); and Gildersleeve (Brown College). The washers and dryers accept payment only through Cavalier Advantage. To learn more about Cavalier Advantage, see Financial Topics.

What about vending areas?

Vending machines that accept either coins or Cavalier Advantage also are located in the residence halls.

Is Wi-Fi available in all the residence halls?

Yes, Wi-Fi is available in all residence halls, in the libraries, on the Lawn, and in virtually all classrooms. Wireless works like cell phone coverage — there may be a few “dead spots,” and it may be slower if a student is in a crowded location or is conducting bandwidth-intensive activities like video streaming or chatting. Students should consider bringing an Ethernet cable to school to access faster, more reliable wired Internet connections where available.

What is the University decoration policy?

To personalize their rooms, students should plan ahead. No more than 10 percent of the total wall area may be covered by material that is combustible, defined as items that are easily ignited, such as unframed posters. Curtains, extension cords, and candles are strictly prohibited. Please see the Housing & Residence Life website for more information under “Decoration Policies.”

What if my student has a medical condition or special needs?

Students needing special housing accommodations due to a medical condition or a disability must submit a Student Request form and appropriate documentation to the Student Disability Access Center (SDAC) within Student Health. The University has a number of air-conditioned housing units in the first-year program areas. Students with medical needs for air-conditioned housing must provide a written request from a family physician that describes a medical condition necessitating living in air-conditioned housing. 

If students need to use needles of any type due to a medical condition, they can purchase a red “Sharps A-Gator” container from the Student Health Pharmacy for the proper disposal of syringes.

What if my daughter or son cannot come home for certain breaks? Can they remain in on-Grounds housing?

First-year students can remain in on-Grounds housing over Thanksgiving and Sprink Break. First-year residence areas close every year for Winter Break, which begins in December, and are not accessible. If first-year students are registered for January Term, then they can return to their first-year residence hall one day prior to the start of J-Term.

Upperclass housing, including all residential college spaces, remains open during Winter Break.

What is the process for continuing to live on Grounds?

Students will receive information from Housing & Residence Life in the fall. An Open House will be held on Saturday during Family Weekend (November 4, 2016) that will outline the application process for returning students, as well as provide parents and students an opportunity to learn about upperclass options. The deadline to apply for on-Grounds housing will be posted on the Housing & Residence Life website.

If my student is returning to the same room on Grounds next year, can she or he leave belongings in the room over the summer?

No. The University takes care of repairs and maintenance, hosts conferences, and holds summer session during this time. Most residential areas are utilized, so it is not possible to leave items over the summer.

How can my student become a Resident Staff member?

Students are eligible to be a Resident Staff member after their first year. The selection process involves an evaluation and two sets of interviews. Students should check the Housing & Residence Life website and watch for information sessions late in the fall semester and early January.

For more information
http://www.virginia.edu/housing