chinese.parenthandbook.virginia.edu

应急指南

安全与紧急情况应对

学校的安全应急反应办公室(OSEP)与大学警务处紧密合作,致力于关于紧急情况的准备和教育。我校在应急管理方面与与夏洛茨维尔市(Charlottesville)以及阿尔伯马尔县(Albemarle)通力合作,确保在自然灾害、突发事件、传染病疫情、恐怖袭击中能够及时按照预案采取行动。

并非所有突发情况都可以事先预料,因此您需要参考以下信息,帮助您的孩子做好应急准备,并瞭解在突发情况下学校如何与学生和家长进行联系。

本地常见灾害

弗大对各种可能出现的灾害都进行防备。因为弗大的学生来自全球各地,因此在夏洛茨维尔可能发生的灾害或许与家长们所熟知的灾害种类不尽相同。在各类可能发生的灾害之中,本地最可能出现的是飓风、强风暴、冬季极端天气以及建筑火灾。

灾害性天气

夏洛茨维尔气候温和宜人,但偶尔也会出现飓风、龙卷风等灾害性天气。

全校性的停课很少,如果学生有疑问,获取信息的最佳途径是学校的应急网站www.virginia.edu/emergency。弗大热线也用于极端天气期间的通讯手段。电话号码为434.924.7669 (SNOW) 和 434.243.7669 (SNOW)。关于学校因为极端天气关闭或调整运行时间的通知将通过大学的电子邮件发送。

建筑火灾

消防训练项目组织教职工与学生进行消防演习。家长亦应当向子女强调消防安全的重要性:火灾警报响起时,同学们必须撤离建筑物;熟悉生活区、教学区与图书馆的紧急出口;确保可燃物(照片、海报、布告板)远离所有热源(灶台、壁炉、火炉、热水器等)。

流感爆发

大范围流感的爆发也是学校重点预防的对象之一。与许多美国其它机构一样,弗大也充分意识到健康突发事件对单位日常运作的影响。了解更多流感的相关信息,请参考www.flu.gov

你准备好了吗?

在紧急情况发生时知道如何应对灾害至关重要。入学新生与返校学生都应该采取行动,将可能发生的紧急情况的负面影响减至最低。

置备应急工具包

学生应急工具包

  • 手电筒以及备用电池
  • 急救包
  • 口哨
  • 防尘面罩
  • 湿纸巾
  • 雨衣或大号垃圾袋
  • 处方药(至少够三天的剂量)
  • 备用眼镜(如有需要)
  • 重要文件的复印件,如联络方式、驾驶执照等
  • 瓶装水
  • 不易腐烂的食物
  • 一些现金

灾害发生后,学校会为同学们提供必需的保障,但电力、燃气、自来水、排污、电话通信等基础设施的恢复过程可能较为缓慢,因此置备应急工具包对于应对灾害至关重要。在等待基础设施修复时,手头备有给养物品可缓解燃眉之急。请参考下面的“应急工具包”部分准备包内物品。

制定应急计划

学生和家长应当制定好针对自己情况的个人应急计划。尽管校方会作出及时的应急反应,但同学们个人的应急计划能最有效地达到临时应急减灾的目的。

在飓风来袭、传染病流行等学校需要疏散人员、停课封校的情况下,全体学生(尤其是外国留学生)应有第二手准备,如灾害严重无法离境时则需要提前安排投靠外州的亲友。

  • 通信方案:家长们应与子女制订一个计划,定好紧急情况下家人之间如何取得联系。
  • 通讯设备有其局限性;因此校方要求同学们在紧急情况发生时立即向家人告知情况,此后尽量减少使用电话,把通讯系统的带宽留给救援人员。
  • 指定一名外州的亲友作為联系人,便於家人在灾害发生期间取得联系。因为在本地电话繁忙时,拨打外州电话更容易接通。
  • 在应急工具包中存有所有重要家庭亲友的联系信息。
  • 在应急工具包中准备预付费电话卡,用以通过固定电话与紧急联系人通话。每个宿舍区都设有应急固定电话。
  • 家长可在子女的手机通讯录中存入如“紧急联络人:爸”、“紧急联络人:妈”的联系方式。 在必要时刻,医护人员往往在手机通讯录中找到家庭成员的联系方式。

政府防灾网站上提供了基本的通讯方案模板。

  • 应急处理程序:在紧急情况下,明白如何采取措施非常重要。一份简明的宣传海报列举了针对具体情况的主要应急、疏散、避难措施,可在《抗灾流程》网站看到。
  • 应急管理方案:有紧急情况发生并且以学校现有的力量无法应对时,学校将立即启动应急管理方案(CIMP)。

及时了解相关信息

紧急情况正在发生或即将发生时,及时获取准确信息事关生死。

弗大警报

网上注册:
www.virginia.edu/uvaalerts
建议每位同学都进行注册。同学们可以填写父母的电话号码以及多个邮箱地址以收取警报邮件。

紧急情况通报:在紧急情况发生并威胁到学校人员的安全或者健康时,学校采用若干方式确保在第一时间向全校人员发出警报。您的子女可能会收到以下形式的警报:

  • 火宅警报
  • 汽笛警报
  • 校园警报(短信与电子邮件,如已注册)
  • 学校电子邮件
  • 电子屏幕和电脑屏幕显示
  • 广播通告
  • 网上注册“alertus"可在电脑桌面上收到警报

请鼓励您的子女在校园警报网登记(该网站也指导家长如何注册)。

事态进展:在紧急情况发生时,获取官方信息的最佳渠道是学校应急网站,可以得到关于事态的准确信息以及相关的日程变更。

学校的主要工作人员以及学生组织负责人,如宿舍管理员等,将会直接与同学们联系。同学们须知的信息将会以一切可能的渠道发布。

为了让家长即时了解情况,副校长与学生处处长也会直接向学生家长通报关于健康和紧急情况的消息。

学生参与

入住日之后,每栋宿舍楼都会组织包括防灾和安全教育的培训。 每个宿舍都会张贴应对紧急情况的宣传海报。安全与应急反应办公室还在学校防灾网站上提供了更多的指导与建议。

校园内外的一些学生组织也参与到了应急反应的的工作中。我们在学年初会为对此感兴趣的同学们提供更多了解这些组织的机会。

更多信息
www.virginia.edu/emergency
osep@virginia.edu

Navigation

Search This Site

Safety and Emergency Preparedness

Working closely with University Police, the Office of Safety and Emergency Preparedness (OSEP) champions a strong commitment to personal preparedness planning and education. The University enjoys a close partnership with the city of Charlottesville and county of Albemarle in the emergency preparedness arena, together assessing vulnerabilities to natural, human, epidemic, and terrorist hazards, assuring an appropriate response is planned for such events.

It is impossible to predict every emergency that could occur. The following information is offered as a general guide for you to plan ahead, prepare your student, and know in advance how the University communicates with students and parents when emergencies and critical incidents occur.

Regional Hazard Awareness

The University plans for all hazards. With a student population that comes from across the world, the risks and hazards familiar to some parents may be different from those of the Charlottesville area. A wide range of potential hazards exists, but the most likely are hurricanes and high wind storms, severe winter weather, and structure fires.

Severe Weather

While Charlottesville enjoys a generally mild climate, the area from time to time has been affected by hurricanes, tornadoes, and other forms of severe weather.

University-wide cancellation of classes is rare, but if students have questions, the best source of information is the University's Emergency home page at www.virginia.edu/emergency. The University Hotlines also are used for communication during any form of inclement weather. Those numbers are 434.924.7669 (SNOW) and 434.243.7669 (SNOW). Notices about a change in operating schedule will be sent to University email accounts.

Structure Fires

Through training programs, University staff, faculty, and students are educated on fire-safe practices. Talk to your student about taking fire safety seriously. Students should always evacuate buildings when they hear a fire alarm; identify emergency exits in living areas, classrooms, and libraries; and keep combustibles (pictures, posters, bulletin boards) away from all heating sources (e.g., stoves, fireplaces, furnaces, hot water heaters, etc.).

Are You Ready?

Knowing what to do during an emergency is an important part of being prepared. New or returning students should take the following actions to minimize the impact of an emergent situation:

Get a Kit

While the University plans to maintain essential support services for students following a disaster, basic services such as electricity, gas, water, sewage treatment, and telephones may take time to be restored. An emergency kit can make the wait for those services to be restored more tolerable. See the sidebar for supplies to include.

Items for Your Student's Emergency Kit

  • Flashlight and extra batteries
  • First-aid kit
  • Whistle to signal for help
  • Dust mask
  • Moist towelettes
  • Rain poncho or large garbage bag
  • Prescription medications (at least a three-day supply)
  • Extra pair of eyeglasses, if applicable
  • Copies of important documents, such as the communications plan and driver's license
  • Bottle of water and non-perishable snacks
  • Some cash

Make a Plan

Students and parents should plan for the unexpected by creating personal emergency plans. The University will respond quickly in an event, but students will be best served by having individual plans to take care of themselves for a brief period of time.

All students, especially international students, should think about what their alternatives are if the University were forced to evacuate during a hurricane, or if a pandemic were to lead to the cancellation of classes and closure of the University. Staying with friends or relatives in another part of the country may be an option to explore in advance, especially if travel abroad is restricted during a large-scale crisis.

  • Communication Plan: Work with your student to create a plan that outlines how you will contact each other.
  • Technology does have limitations. Students are asked to contact home as soon as possible following a critical incident and advise you of their status. After that, they are asked to minimize the use of their phones to allow for telecommunication system use by emergency responders.
  • Identify an out-of-state contact to receive and relay messages among family members, since it may be easier to make a long-distance telephone call.
  • Add a list of important family contact information to keep in the emergency kit.
  • Include a prepaid phone calling card to use to call the emergency contact. Identify landline phones. Emergency landlines are located within each residential area.
  • Have your student add "In Case of Emergency" (ICE) numbers to her or his cell phone; for example, ICE Mom or ICE Dad. Medical professionals often look for ICE contacts in patient cell phones to assist in contacting family members when it is most needed.

Ready.gov provides a simple template to help you record your communications plan at www.ready.gov/make-a-plan.

  • Emergency Procedures: Knowing what to do in specific emergency situations is important. A quick reference poster, available on the Emergency Preparedness website, lists basic steps to shelter-in-place and evacuate, as well as incident-specific instructions.
  • Critical Incident Management Plan: The University acts immediately in response to emergency situations using the Critical Incident Management Plan (CIMP). The CIMP is activated when an emergency affecting the University reaches proportions that cannot be handled by established measures. The CIMP is flexible to accommodate contingencies of all types, magnitude, and duration.

Stay Informed

Accurate information about impending or actual threats or emergencies can literally mean the difference between life and death.

Emergency Notification: The University employs a range of technologies to help alert the community to emergency situations as quickly as possible. Emergency alerts are reserved for critical incidents that pose an imminent threat to the health and safety of the UVA community. Your student may be alerted in several ways:

  • Fire alarm
  • Siren
  • UVA Alerts (text and email notification, if registered)
  • University email
  • LCD, LED, and desktop displays
  • Public address system annoucements (where available)
  • Altertus desktop notifications, available with registration by student

Encourage your student to sign up for UVA Alerts (see the website for how parents can be signed up).

Situation Updates: During an emergency, the best action is to check the University’s emergency website, www.virginia.edu/emergency, where you will see the most up-to-date information. The University's home page will be accessible at www.virginia.edu if the emergency website is disrupted for any reason.

Key staff and student leaders, such as the Resident Staff, also will be equipped to communicate directly with students. All available forms of communication will be used to convey needed information to students.

To keep parents informed, the vice president and chief student affairs officer will communicate with you on health and emergency issues.

UVA Alerts

Sign up at www.virginia.edu/uvaalerts. All students are encouraged to sign up. Students can add a parent phone number and multiple email addresses as additional message recipients.

Student Involvement

After Move-In Day, each residence hall holds an orientation period, which includes a discussion of emergency preparedness and safety topics. Copies of the Emergency Procedures poster are posted in every residence hall. The Office of Safety and Emergency Preparedness offers additional guidance and suggestions throughout the year on the Emergency Preparedness website.

Several student groups are engaged in areas of emergency preparedness and response, both on Grounds and in the community. Students interested in becoming involved will have ample opportunities to learn more about these groups at the beginning of the school year.