Navigation

搜索本站

弗大活动

弗大非常欢迎家长和亲友们任何时间来弗吉尼亚大学参观。毕业典礼,家庭周末和家长培训是特别给家长和亲友们准备的。弗大也同样欢迎家长和亲友们参加其它的一些活动、 展览和特殊的项目。

毕业典礼

毕业典礼在每年的5月为本科和研究生的毕业生举行。2017年,文理学院的毕业典礼将在5月20日期六举行。其他10个学院和数据科学学院则在5月21日星期日举行。

除非天气恶劣,毕业生代表演说(在周六早上)和毕业典礼(在周日早上)都会在大草坪举行。在网站上您可以看到详尽的信息,但是以下几项重要事宜请务必留意:

  • 大草坪的典礼须凭票入场。请访问毕业典礼网站了解如何为来宾购票。座位会在早上7:30开放,学术队伍会在早上10:00进场。
  • 我们也欢迎没有票的来宾在校园几处有空调的室内会场远程观看直播的典礼。
  • 弗大建议您把车停在指定的几个大停车场(比如说在Scott体育场或是University楼/John Paul Jones Arena的停车场),再坐公共汽车到达典礼现场。
  • 在毕业典礼周末,宾馆很快就会订满。因此我们建议您尽早预定房间。很多宾馆都在期末考试结束后一天开始接受第二年的房间预定。一些宾馆会在6月进行电话抽奖。因为每个宾馆的政策和做法不同,请您务必事先询问具体的宾馆。
  • 为了向参加毕业典礼周末的宾客们提供实惠的校内住宿,弗大向宾客们开放Alderman路走廊式学生宿舍区。您可以于2016年9月1日起在网上注册2017年的毕业典礼。详情请见: www.virginia.edu/housing/conferences/grad_2017.php
  • 未来几年的毕业典礼日期如下:
    • 2017年5月20日:文理学院;5月21日:其他学院
    • 2018年5月19、20日
    • 2019年5月18、19日
    • 2020年5月16、17日

家庭周末 2017年11月3-5日

家庭周末是给家长和家庭成员特地准备的,它包括一系列的活动,有公开课、教员演讲、文化庆祝、公开参观、音乐会和许多其他的活动。家庭周末也是一个很好的时间来感受如今的学生生活。周五下午的秋季大集会和大三学生颁奖仪式正式拉开家庭周末的序幕。在大集会之后,大三学生会为学生和亲属们举办颁发戒指的仪式。

家长培训

家长培训于每年夏天和新生培训一起进行。家长培训覆盖很多主题,从健康和安全到学生住宿问题。家长们关于经济资助、校园卡、学术环境和入住日等一些问题都可以得到解答。这是一个很好的时间来了解学校为新生准备的一切,以及为家长和学生们提供的许多资源。

负责家长培训和新生项目的工作人员也兼办家庭周末。

教育项目

弗大为家长及亲属提供一系列的教育机会。

终身学习
http://alumni.virginia.edu/learn

作为一个校友与家长项目,“终身学习”在校内和全国甚至全世界范围内提供线上线下课程。您可以通过讲座、研讨会、演讲和网络课堂找到很多开阔视野的机会。

继续与职业教育

www.virginia.edu/academics/continuinged

无论您想完成本科学位,取得专业认证,还是为进入领导岗位做准备,弗大在夏洛茨维尔和弗吉尼亚州提供各种满足成人教育的项目

艺术和展览

http://arts.virginia.edu

Fralin艺术博物馆常年举办展览,开办各类项目和社会活动。Kluge-Ruhe土著艺术收藏馆提供公共教育项目,包括展出、游览、讲座和音乐会。定期的展出也会在弗大的图书馆进行。

弗吉尼亚图书节

http://vabook.org

弗吉尼亚人类奠基会于每年三月在夏洛茨维尔举行弗吉尼亚图书节。届时会有200多位作家和图书界的专家为成人、儿童和年轻人举办各种教育活动。

弗吉尼亚电影节

http://virginiafilmfestival.org

每年秋季的弗吉尼亚电影节都会吸引成千上万的来自美国各地的电影爱好者。2016年的电影节将于11月3-6日举行,与家庭周末同期。

讲座、音乐会和演讲者

http://calendar.virginia.edu

校历上列出了学校范围内的各种活动, 包括公共讲座、音乐会、报告和学生活动。

OAAA 家长顾问协会

隶属于非裔美国人事务办公室,OAAA家长顾问协会在防止学生流失方面作出了重要的贡献。家长通过该组织和学校的管理人员、教职员工们共同合作来支持美国黑人学生。这个机构在支持学校多元化上很有影响力。OAAA家长顾问协会资助在北弗吉尼亚、里士满还有弗吉尼亚东部有潮水地区的活动。

体育赛事

我们知道弗吉尼亚大学骑士队最衷心的支持者正是来自家长。弗大邀请所有的家长和亲友们可以通过购买季票或单场比赛门票来支持弗大校队。购票网址为 VirginiaSports.com/tickets。购票电话为 1.800.542.UVA1 (8821). 弗吉尼亚运动员售票处位于Scott体育场Bryant楼,每周一到周五9点到5点可以购票

Navigation

Search This Site

Events for Parents and Families

Parents and family members are welcome to visit UVA at any time. Final Exercises, Family Weekend, and Parent Orientation are times especially for parents and families. The University welcomes parents and family members at other activities and events, exhibits, and special programs.

Final Exercises

Final Exercises, or commencement, occur each May for undergraduate and graduate degree candidates. In 2018, the Final Exercises ceremony for the College and Graduate School of Arts & Sciences will be on Saturday, May 19, and the other 10 schools and the Data Science Institute will hold Final Exercises on Sunday, May 20.

Barring severe weather conditions, both Final Exercises ceremonies (on Saturday and Sunday mornings) take place on the Lawn. Details are on the Web, but some important things to keep in mind:

  • Tickets are required for both Lawn ceremonies. Please visit the Finals website for guest seating ticket information. Seating opens at 7:30 a.m., with the academic procession starting at 10 a.m.
  • Guests without tickets are welcome to watch the ceremonies from air-conditioned remote viewing locations in several locations on the Grounds.
  • The University suggests parking in the large, designated UVA parking areas (such as the lots at Scott Stadium or John Paul Jones Arena/University Hall) and using the shuttle bus service to reach the ceremonies.
  • Area accommodations fill up fast for Finals Weekend, so it is advisable to make reservations as soon as possible. Many hotels will accept reservations for the coming year on the day after Finals of the current year. Some hold telephone lotteries in June. Since policies and practices vary among hotels, it is best to check with individual facilities.
  • To provide an affordable, on-Grounds housing option for guests attending Finals Weekend, the University offers student-style accommodations in dorm rooms located in the new Alderman Road hall-style residence area. Online registration for Finals Weekend in May usually begins during the prior September.
  • Dates for upcoming Final Exercises:
    • May 19 and 20, 2018
    • May 18 and 19, 2019
    • May 16 and 17, 2020

Family Weekend
November 3-5, 2017

A time especially for parents and family members, Family Weekend features a full schedule of activities, including open classes to attend, faculty presentations, cultural celebrations, open houses, concerts, and many other programs. Family Weekend is also a great time to get a feel for the day-to-day life of today’s students. Fall Convocation and the awarding of Intermediate Honors to third-year students officially mark the start of Family Weekend on Friday afternoon. After Convocation, the third-year class holds its Ring Ceremony for students, family members, and friends.

Parent Orientation

Offered each summer in conjunction with Orientation for new students, the orientation program for parents covers topics ranging from health and safety to student housing. Families also can get their questions answered about financial aid, Cavalier Advantage, the academic environment, and Move-In Day. It is a time to learn about what is in store for new students and the many resources available to both students and parents.

For more information
http://orientation.virginia.edu

Educational Programs

The University of Virginia offers a wide variety of educational opportunities for parents, family members, and friends.

Lifetime Learning
http://alumni.virginia.edu/learn

An Alumni and Parent Engagement program, Lifetime Learning hosts programs on the Grounds, in locations around the country and the world, and online. You will find opportunities to expand your mind and broaden your horizons through lectures, symposia, talks, and online offerings.

Continuing and Executive Education
www.virginia.edu/academics/continuinged

Whether you want to finish an undergraduate degree, earn a certificate in a specialty, or prepare for executive leadership, UVA offers programs in Charlottesville and around the state to meet the needs of adult learners.

Art and Exhibits
http://arts.virginia.edu

The Fralin Museum of Art hosts exhibits, programs, and social events throughout the year. The Kluge-Ruhe Aboriginal Art Collection offers educational public programs, including exhibits, tours, lectures, and concerts. Regular exhibits also are featured through the UVA Libraries.

Virginia Festival of the Book
http://vabook.org

The Virginia Foundation for the Humanities hosts the Virginia Festival of the Book in Charlottesville in March, featuring more than 200 authors and book professionals in educational programs for adults, children, and youth.

Virginia Film Festival
http://virginiafilmfestival.org

Every fall, the Virginia Film Festival attracts thousands of film enthusiasts from across the country. The 2017 festival takes place November 9-12.

Lectures, Concerts, Speakers
http://calendar.virginia.edu

The University Calendar lists University-wide events of general interest, including public lectures, concerts, and presentations, as well as student events.

OAAA Parents Advisory Association

Based in the Office of African-American Affairs, the Parents Advisory Association is an important component of a holistic approach to student retention, where parents and University administrators, faculty, and staff work in partnership to support African-American students. The organization has been influential in assisting the University with wide-ranging issues encompassing diversity and climate. The OAAA Parents Advisory Association sponsors activities in Northern Virginia, Richmond, and the Tidewater area of Virginia.

Sporting Events

The University knows that parents are some of its biggest fans. All parents and family members can support athletics by purchasing season tickets or single game tickets at VirginiaSports.com/tickets or by calling the Virginia Athletics Ticket Office at 1.800.542.UVA1 (8821). The athletics ticket office is located in Bryant Hall at Scott Stadium and is open weekdays from 9 a.m. until 5 p.m.