Navigation

搜索本站

公民领导

弗大学生有无数学习和锻炼公民领导力的机会。下面着重介绍几个领导力项目。您的子女还可以在他们的课程与课外活动中找到非常多的其它锻炼领导力的机会。

学生会

学生会主管弗吉尼亚大学全体学生。学生会的目的是为学生提供一个讨论事关全校问题与政策的平台,并且为大学提供相应服务项目来处理这些问题。

学生会中,主席和执行委员会监管整个学生会;代表团这一立法组织代表所有学院制定政策制度。学生会的主席、分管行政与组织的副主席和各位学生代表由全体学生于每年2月选举产生。由主席任命的12个常务内阁委员会发起代表研究生和本科生利益的各项活动。 历史上,学生会曾经参与决策成立了Clemons图书馆以及要求录取女生入学文理学院。学生会最近参与应对与学费增加相关的事务以及在所有弗大的卫生间内提供免费的卫生用品。

在分管学生组织的副校长的监督下,学生会还负责每年向大量学生组织分配拨款90万美金。拨款委员审核所有拨款请求,代表团成员听取任何关于拨款分配的上诉。代表团成员也在其审批委员会完成审阅过程后负责审批新的独立学生组织的成立。

学期间,学生会于每周二晚上6:30在Newcomb的南会议室召开会议。会议由学生报纸《骑士日报》报导,向公众公开。

董事会的学生成员

每年都有一名学生通过申请成为弗大董事会的一员,任期一年。该学生代表积极与全校学生互动,为董事会的各项决定提供反馈,也对学生可能产生的反应做出预测。虽然学生成员并无选举权,董事会同等认真地听取学生的声音。董事会自1983年以来就开始有学生成员。

年级学生会和董事会

年级学生会及四年级董事会促进各年级内的凝聚力。一年级学生会的选举在9月举行。春季学期间,学生可以申请加入二年级或三年级学生会或者四年级董事会。

这四个学生组织共同策划、实施和促进特别适合各年级的教育、联谊和慈善活动。活动包括海外留学讲座、课间休息、年级宴会、大草坪圣诞电灯仪式、三年级戒指颁发仪式以及很多关于如何写简历和个人理财的讲座。 

四年级董事会开发和筹集年级的奉献资金,策划毕业典礼的相关活动,致力于使毕业班的学生们联合起来,并组织同学聚会。董事会成员于四年级期间和毕业后五年在任。

Meriwether Lewis 公民领袖学院

Meriwether Lewis 公民领袖学院成立于2014年秋季,由副院长及学生事务总长办公室领导。学院由这位在杰弗逊支持下探索西部大陆的著名开拓者命名,代表学院的成立旨在帮助学生通过公民领袖开拓新天地。

每年,该学院由25名学生组成。结合学业、生活与应用三个方面,项目包括在大二春季学期修一门建筑学院的《设计与思考入门》的课程。之后的内容包括在暑期参加为期六周的领导培训学院,一门大三春季学期Batten公共政策学院的《领导力实践》课程, 和在大四年间继续为改善弗大而工作

在六周的时间内,Lewis项目成员住在校园内,与弗大各部门领导充分讨论,参加与领导和团队精神相关的技能训练团体项目。通过团队合作的机会,这些学生探索他们及其他学生领袖如何应对弗大当下面临的种种挑战。这一机会有助于他们更有效地在大三、大四年间发起独立项目,或者深化与某学生组织的合作,或者集中投入某一具体的问题,或者审视弗大更广泛的问题并助力解决那些问题。 

弗大家长 Rebecca 和 Bill Sanders 的慷慨资助了种子金,与弗大合作一起成立这个学院。这个项目的发展与成长继续依赖于私人捐助者的慷慨之举。

更多信息
www.lewis.virginia.edu
 

宿舍管理人员

宿舍管理人员中的250多名学生成员在弗大的所有宿舍楼中旅行领导职责,协助提高大一新生的大学体验。宿管人员在住宿区域乃至整个弗大社区都是营造社区归属感的重要力量。 

作为住宿生活处专业人员的合作伙伴,宿管人员的学生成员将多元文化、协作互助、个人责任、主观能动、批判性思考和客服服务等核心价值观整合入他们的日常工作中。宿管辅导员咨询高级宿管获得学生宿管主席们的监督、建议和总体协调,后者负责整个宿舍管理团队。详情请见宿舍管理人员网页。

Navigation

Search This Site

Citizen Leadership

UVA students have countless opportunities to learn and practice citizen leadership. The below are highlighted groups or programs. Your student will discover many other opportunities through their courses and co-curricular activities.

Student Council

Student Council is the governing organization for the student body at the University of Virginia. This organization provides a means for students to participate in issues and policies that affect the student body, while offering several services to the University at large.

The president and the executive board oversee the Council. The representative body, a legislative body representing every University school, handles legislative matters. The president, vice presidents for administration and organizations, and the representatives are elected by the student body each February. Student Council hosts 12 standing cabinet committees appointed by the president that develop initiatives and advocate on behalf of both graduate and undergraduate students. Historically, Student Council has been involved with the creation of Clemons Library and demanding that women be admitted into the College of Arts & Sciences. Student Council has recently taken on issues related to tuition increases and the provision of free menstrual hygiene in all bathrooms at the University.

Student Council maintains agency organization status through its annual allocation of around $900,000 to a diverse array of student groups under the supervision of the vice president for organizations. The appropriations committee reviews all funding requests, and the representative body hears any appeals after funds have been allocated. The representative body also approves the formation of new CIOs after the organization recognition committee finishes its review process.

When classes are in session, Student Council meets every Tuesday at 6:30 p.m. in the South Meeting Room of Newcomb Hall. Meetings are open to the public and are covered by the student newspaper, The Cavalier Daily.

More information
https://uvastudco.com

Student Member of the Board of Visitors

Each year, a student is selected through an application process to serve a one-year term on the Board of Visitors, the University’s governing body. The student member actively engages with the student body, serving in a feedback role for assessing and predicting students’ general reactions to the board’s decisions. Although the student member does not have voting privileges, full board members consider the voice of the student member equally with the opinions of voting board members. A student has served on UVA’s board since 1983.

Class Councils and Trustees

The class councils and Fourth-Year Trustees foster unity within their respective undergraduate classes. An election for First-Year Council takes place in September. In the spring, students may apply to serve on Second- or Third-Year Council or to become a fourth-year trustee.

All four groups plan, implement, and promote educational, social, and philanthropic activities with special relevance for their classmates. Activities include study abroad workshops, study breaks, class dinners, Lighting of the Lawn in December, the Ring Ceremony for third-years, and workshops on topics such as resume preparation and personal finance.

The Fourth-Year Trustees develop and raise funds for the class giving program, plan Finals Weekend (graduation) activities, focus on bringing the graduating class together, and plan reunions. Trustees serve during their fourth year and for five years after graduating.

More information
https://alumni.virginia.edu/class-school/class-councils-trustees

Meriwether Lewis Institute for Citizen Leadership

The Meriwether Lewis Institute for Citizen Leadership was launched in fall 2014 by the Office of the Vice President and Chief Student Affairs Officer. Named for the famous pathfinder who set out to explore the western territory with the backing of Thomas Jefferson, the Lewis Institute is envisioned as a means to equip students to break new ground through citizen leadership.

Each year, 25 students are selected to become Fellows in the fall of their second year. Incorporating academic, experiential, and applied learning elements, the program includes a School of Architecture course on “Introduction to Design and Thinking” for Fellows in the second-year spring semester. Subsequent components include a six-week summer leadership institute, a Batten School “Leadership in Practice” seminar in the third-year spring semester, and ongoing work to improve the University in their fourth years.

Over the span of six weeks during the summer program, Lewis Fellows live on Grounds, immersed in discussions with University officials and engaged in skill-building and group projects. With opportunities for collaboration and teamwork, they examine how they and other student leaders can address challenges within the University. This opportunity prepares them to contribute meaningfully to the University in their third and fourth years, choosing to deepen their involvement with a particular student organization, focus their engagement on a particular topic, or examine and contribute to broader issues on Grounds.

UVA parents Bill and Rebecca Sanders provided seed funding to launch the program in partnership with the University. The program continues to depend on the generosity of private donors to flourish and grow.

Resident Staff

Student members of the Resident Staff, more than 250 in total, facilitate the first-year experience and provide leadership in all of the University’s residence halls. Resident Staff are key to building a sense of community within living areas and within the larger University. 

As partners with the Housing & Residence Life professional team, Resident Staff members incorporate the core values of multiculturalism, collaboration, personal accountability, empowerment, critical thinking, and customer service into their daily work. Resident Advisors look to Senior Residents for supervision, advice, and overall coordination along with the Student Co-Chairs, who are responsible for leading the entire Resident Staff team. More information about the Resident Staff Program.