Navigation

搜索本站

常见问题解答

寻找帮助与支持

问: 我的孩子可以在哪里寻求帮助?

答: 在弗大想要帮助您的孩子的人到处都有!教职员工都希望学生成功。您的孩子特别要知道这些可以帮助他们的人:

  • 宿舍管理员宿舍管理员是住校学生,特别是新近入校的学生最好的资源。从回答基本问题到提供选课或者任何其他大学生活方方面面的建议,经过特别培训的宿舍管理员都能提供最好的帮助。

  • 高年级同学顾问: 高年级的学长经常作为顾问在学业、就业和健康方面帮助新生。一些有名的项目包括非裔学生顾问项目文理学院学生会职业辅导健康辅导以及专为转学生提供咨询的一些项目

  • 学生处工作人员: 新生可以在学生处找到很多可以帮助他们的教职员工。从学生处到学生健康中心到职业中心到非裔事物办公室,各个部门的专业工作人员都会为学生提供活动安排、心理辅导和担任导师的服务。学生可以在http://vpsa.virginia.edu和家长手册上了解到更多信息

  • 各个学院的辅导员、学业指导教授和教工: 每个学院都设有专门帮助学生的辅导员和指导教授。文理学院的辅导员也负责学业上的指导。新生一入学就根据所分宿舍或者作为奖学金持有者或运动特招或转学生的身份指派一名辅导员。学生在文理学院就读期间跟随同一名辅导员。 

健康与安全

问: 我的孩子生病了怎么办?

答: 学生在弗大期间应该以弗大学生健康中心作为主要寻医问药的地方。这里提供的服务包括心理辅导咨询、普通医疗(包括过敏、免疫、国际旅行等科室)、妇科、保健科、以及残疾学生服务中心。医务中心关门期间,如有紧急健康问题,学生可以拨打 434.297.4261 接通值班医生。如果是威胁生命的情况,学生务必拨打911。

学生健康中心的服务,包括有关保险的信息,都在学生健康部分有详细描述

问: 关于怎么跟我的孩子讨论他们的安全与健康问题,有什么好的资源吗?

答: 无论是熬夜学习、学业压力,还是饮食习惯的调整,大学生活可以给学生带来不少挑战。弗大有很多项目鼓励学生养成健康安全的生活习惯。如果您担心学生饮酒的问题,可以参考学生酒精使用饮食紊乱这两部分。

问: 在校园内就可以取到处方药吗?

答: 是的。学生健康中心即配有药店,可以配所有处方药(即使处方不是由学生健康中心开据的)。另一家药店位于大学书店内,地点也非常方便。校园附近的Corner还有一家零售药店。

问: 学校有哪些保障学生安全的措施?

答: 学生安全 是弗大优先考虑的问题。新生入住的时候会收到一份详尽的学生安全 手册。请跟您的孩子一起认真阅读这份安全指南。这里包括了很多弗大的安全方面的资源。

每一个人都负有为大家创造一个安全社区的责任。学生要对周围的环境敏感,互相关照彼此的安全,并且在需要帮助或是看到可疑情况时马上拨打911。哪怕只是感觉有什么不对劲,学生就应该给警察打电话。

学生生活时间表

问: 我怎么才能了解我的孩子的大学生活?

答: 有些活动,比如期中考试,会出现在学年的固定时间。一些大学的传统活动,比如大三典礼,时间也相对固定。请查看“学生时间表”了解四年间的活动概况。 

答:秋季阅读日在10月份,正值学期中间。学生这几天没有课,因此可以追赶拉下的功课,或者用来补觉。许多学生,如果不是所有的话,选择回家过一个四天的假期,特别是如果家离得比较近。对于留在校园的学生,餐饮和交通服务都还有,但是时间可能会有所调整。

怎么回家 (Traveling home)

问: 我的孩子回家最便捷的方式是什么?

答: 根据您的住处,学生可以选择飞机、火车、灰狗大巴、私人长途客运巴士以及搭车服务。

有些家庭发现将距离夏洛茨维尔80英里的里士满作为交通中转站更为方便。位于华盛顿特区附近的杜勒斯国际机场距离校园大约105英里。

请参见停车与交通网页查看更多交通方面的信息。

投寄信件与包裹 (Mail and package)

问: 我怎么给孩子寄东西?

答: 您可以在住宿网站查看孩子的邮寄地址。也可以在该常见问题解答查看往宿舍楼寄东西的详情。

消除顾虑

问: 我的孩子在新生培训期间没能注上自己想选的课怎么办?

答: 首先您和您的孩子都不必担忧。8月份注册系统会重新开放。学生在此期间增加或者取消某一课程的注册。开学一星期之内,有些课程即使已经注满也有注册的可能。有时候授课教授会允许学生修已经注满的课程。

问: 我的孩子和室友的关系好像不太好。能调宿舍吗?

答: 对许多学生来说,这是他们第一次与陌生人共享私人空间。这一经历可以是一个极好的学习机会,在让步、沟通、多元化、坚持主见等方面越来越了解自己和生活。鼓励您的孩子应对这一挑战。

新生入校时室友同宿舍管理员一同书写并签署一份协议。该协议旨在预防室友之间可能出现的矛盾。另外学校有各种正式非正式的调解机制用来帮助协调室友之间的关系。我们鼓励学生在跟室友的相处出现问题时与室友共同协商。如果这样的努力不成功,学生应当与宿舍管理员沟通,宿舍管理员会帮忙向大学住宿部门的相关领导反映情况。能否调换宿舍要取决于具体情况和是否有空位。

问: 已经到了2月份,可是我的孩子似乎还是没能适应集体生活。我该怎么做呢?

答: 有时候父母觉得他们的孩子需要帮助。根据经验,最好的办法是父母引导孩子自己寻求帮助。学校住宿部的员工长期直接与学生打交道,深知学生的需求。他们能给您的孩子提供有经验的指导从而使您的孩子能够作出他们自己认为最好的选择。

当然也有家长应该跟学校直接联络共同解决问题的情况。比如,如果您认为您的孩子无法自行寻求帮助(比如孩子陷入了极度的抑郁),如果您在紧急情况下联系不上自己的孩子,或者如果您认为有人处于危险之中,请您联系住宿部(434.924.3736)或者学生处(434.924.7133)或者学校警务部(434.924.7166)。这些部门24小时均有人值班。

 

工作、实习与海外教育

问: 我的孩子怎么计划海外留学?

答: 虽然很多学生不愿意错过在弗大的一个学期,但是学生有很多留学海外的选择。在第一个学期适应大学生活之后,鼓励您的孩子参加春季学期或是二年级秋季学期的留学项目介绍会。

最流行的留学时段是二年级或者三年级。作为准备阶段,学生应该在学期开始不久与他们的留学导师见面,讨论学业要求和申请截止日期。学生需要了解办理留学需要大量的手续,所以提早安排将有利于申请顺利进行。很多来年春季的留学项目的申请截止日期在10月份,有时候甚至更早,在9月就截至报名了。另外,如果您的孩子将要在相对落后的地区学习或旅行,务必在行程前4-6周去学生健康中心的国际旅行诊所接种必要的疫苗。参看相关网页了解留学海外、冬季学期和本科研究等更多学习机会。 

问: 学生们在找实习或工作时能获得什么帮助?

答: 弗大职业中心从第一年开始就为大一新生提供一对一的咨询、与就业相关的各种项目、请雇主参加的辅导与联络活动以及各种招聘会。鼓励您的孩子尽早并且经常来职业中心。

学生想要寻求专业资源的时候,职业中心提供六个职业社区,整合雇主、校友、教授和职业中心的工作人员的资源,共同协助学生寻找合适的工作。这些职业社区提供专业咨询、项目和精挑细选的工作与实习机会。

Navigation

Search This Site

Frequently Asked Questions

Finding Help and Support

Q: Where can my student find "the helpers" at UVA?

A: Helpers are everywhere at UVA! The faculty and staff want students to succeed. Your student should know about these people in particular:

  • Resident Advisers: The RA is one of the best resources readily available to all students living on Grounds, especially to incoming students. From answering basic questions to offering advice about classes or other aspects of University life, RAs are trained to help students.
  • Peer Advisers: Upperclass students often serve as peer mentors to new students in areas such as academics, careers, and health. Notable programs include the African-American Peer Advisor Program, the College Council, Career Peer Educators, health and wellness peer educators, and programs serving transfer students.
  • Student Affairs Staff: Students can find a range of help from faculty and staff in the division of Student Affairs. From the Office of the Dean of Students and Student Health to the Career Center and Office of African-American Affairs, professional staff members provide services along with programming, counseling, and mentoring to students. More information is available at http://vpsa.virginia.edu and throughout the handbook.
  • Association Dean, Academic Deans, and Staff in Individual Schools: Each school has deans and staff in place to help students. In the College of Arts & Sciences, students should look to their association dean for academic assistance. College students are assigned to an association dean based on their first-year housing assignment or their status as an Echols scholar, student-athlete, or transfer student. Students keep the same association dean for as long as they remain in the College.

Health and Safety

Q: What if my student gets sick?

A: Students should consider Student Health as the primary option for their health care while at UVA. Services include Counseling and Psychological Services, General Medicine, Gynecology, the Student Disability Access Center, and Health Promotion. After hours, for urgent health concerns, students can call the answering service at 434.297.4261 to be connected with an on-call care provider. In an emergency or life-threatening situation, students should always call 911.

Student Health's services, including information about health insurance requirements, are described on Health and Wellness.

Q: Any pointers on how to talk with my student about their health and safety?

A: Between late hours, academic stress, and shifting dietary habits, college can pose a number of challenges. Many programs are in place at UVA to encourage a healthy, safe lifestyle. If you are concerned about alcohol use, see the column on Alcohol Use among Students: How Parents Can be Partners in Prevention. Other information is available on psychological services and eating disorders.

Q: Is it possible to get prescriptions filled on Grounds?

A: Yes, Student Health has a UVA Hospital satellite pharmacy that will fill all prescriptions (even those not written by Student Health), and another UVA licensed pharmacist is conveniently located inside the UVA Bookstore on Central Grounds. In addition, a retail pharmacy is located on the Corner.

Q: What safety measures are in place for students?

A: Student safety is a priority at UVA. During move-in, students will receive a comprehensive Student Safety booklet. Please take time to review the guide with your student. It covers the many safety resources in place at UVA.

Everyone plays a role in creating a safe community. Students are urged to be aware of their surroundings, to watch out for one another, and to always call 911 if they need help or see a person or situation that seems suspicious. If something simply doesn't feel right, students should call the police.

Student Timeline

Q: How can I keep track of what is going on in my student's life at UVA?

A: Certain events, such as midterms, occur at predictable times during the academic year. A number of UVA traditions, such as the Third-Year Ceremony, also occur at set times. See Student Timeline: What Happens When.

Q: What are Fall Reading Days? Do most students go home?

A: Fall Reading Days occur in October, just before the midpoint in the semester. Students do not have classes, so they can catch up on coursework – or sleep. Many students, but not all, go home for the four-day break, especially if they live nearby. For students who stay, services such as dining and University transit are still available, but schedules may be altered.

Traveling Home

Q: What’s the easiest way for my daughter or son to get home?

A: Depending on where you live, transportation is available through the Charlottesville Airport, Amtrak, Greyhound, independently owned bus services, and ride-sharing.

Some families find the Richmond Airport, located approximately 80 miles from Charlottesville, to be a more convenient travel hub. Dulles International Airport is located approximately 105 miles from the Grounds.

See Parking & Transportation for more information on travel beyond Charlottesville as well as transportation and parking at UVA.

Sending Mail and Packages

Q: How do I send mail to my student?

A: You can get your first-year student’s mailing address by going to the Housing website. For more information about mail service to the residence halls, see FAQs.

Concerns

Q: My student is disappointed they did not get the classes they wanted during registration at Orientation. What can they do?

A: First, neither of you should worry. Course registration reopens in August, and students can add and drop classes then. During the first week of classes, students also can attend different courses even if they are full, and sometimes professors will allow more students to enroll.

Q: Things don’t seem to be going well between my student and their roommate. Can they switch to a different room?

A: For many students, this is the first time they have had to share private space with another individual. This experience can be a tremendous learning opportunity, bringing self-knowledge and life lessons in compromise, communication, diversity, and assertiveness. Encourage your student to enter this new relationship with a sense of adventure and patience.

Upon arrival, roommates create and sign a contract with their RA. The contract serves as a guide to prevent issues between roommates before they develop. In addition, many resources are available for addressing roommate conflict, including formal and informal mediation processes. Students are encouraged to work out challenges together with their roommates. If this attempt is not successful, students should contact their RA who will help or refer the situation to an assistant dean or area coordinator in Housing & Residence Life. Changing rooms, which is not common, depends upon the situation and the spaces available.

Q: It’s February, and my first-year student just does not seem to be adjusting to college life. What can I do?

A: Sometimes parents feel that their student needs help. Based on experience, the best course is for parents to guide their student to seek out help on their own. By dealing directly with the student, the Housing & Residence Life staff are able to develop a relationship, ascertain the student’s needs, provide your student with an experienced perspective, and allow your student to choose the option they feel is best.

Of course, there are times when it is important for a parent to call the University directly to partner on a problem. For instance, if you believe that your student is unable to seek their own help (such as in cases of severe depression), if you are unable to reach your child in an emergency, or if you believe someone may be in danger, please call Housing & Residence Life (434.924.3736), the Office of the Dean of Students (434.924.7133), or the University Police (434.924.7166). Someone is available 24/7.

Jobs, Internships, and Study Abroad

Q: What help is available for students to find internships and jobs?

A: The UVA Career Center provides individual student counseling, career-related programs, mentoring and networking events with employers, and career fairs for students beginning in their first year. Encourage your student to visit the center early and often.

When students are ready to seek specialized resources, the Career Center offers six Career Communities, which bring together employers, alumni, faculty, and Career Center staff to assist students in their career search. The communities offer specialized advising, programs, and handpicked job and internship opportunities.

Q: How can my student plan for studying abroad?

A: Although students may prefer not to miss a semester at UVA, many options are available for education abroad. After the acclimatization period of first semester, encourage your student to attend the Education Abroad fair in the spring semester or in the following fall semester.

The most popular times to study abroad are second and third years. As an initial step, students should meet with an education abroad adviser and with their academic adviser early in the semester to discuss academic requirements and deadlines. Students should be aware that there may be a great deal of paperwork involved, so planning early will help facilitate the process. Many deadlines are in October for the upcoming spring, but as early as September in some cases.

In addition, if your student will be studying in or traveling to an under-resourced area, they should visit the International Travel Clinic at Student Health four to six weeks prior to departure to ensure that they receive any necessary vaccinations.

See Other Academic Opportunities for more information about Education Abroad, as well as other academic opportunities, such as January Term and Undergraduate Research.