Navigation

搜索本站

其他学习机会

寒假学期

寒假学期的上课时间为寒假。为学生提供特殊学习机会:选修与当前趋势有关的课程、海外留学项目、本科生研究讨论课和跨学科课程。寒假学期课程的密集程度鼓励和带动学生们和教授密切接触,从而增大学生对课程的投入程度。选择上寒假学期的学生们可以使用一系列的学生服务和课外活动。符合经济困难标准的学生可以申请助学金。

暑期课程

每个暑假约有4000名学生报名参加丰富多彩的弗大暑期课程或项目。其中很多课程和项目只在暑期提供,无法在正常学年里选修,其中包括著名的暑期语言学院。

学生们选修暑期课程的主要目的是为完成学位或双学位的必修课,提高总成绩平均分,减少学位就读时间或探索新领域。注册暑期课程的学生可享有一系列服务性资源和课外活动。

本科生科研

本科生科研办公室的宗旨是鼓励、促进和支持本科生进行科学研究。旨在服务弗大社区,本办公室所提供的项目和经费都协助本科生在各个学术领域内获得科研的经验。所提供的服务包括个人咨询、介绍会、工作坊、报告论坛、科研机会数据库以及科研经费的管理。本办公室也包括本科生学术研究机会(USOAR)项目,为可以勤工俭学的学生在他们感兴趣的领域找到有报酬的研究职位,以及本科研究联络网 (URN)这一特殊学生组织。

海外教育

弗吉尼亚大学把海外留学看做一项重要的学习体验,不但提高思想能力,而且丰富个人阅历,更重要的是培养学生在全球化环境中的领导能力。这种独一无二的学习体验将探索知识和亲身体验不同的民族及其文化价值观结合起来。海外留学为学生在自己所属的领域或未来职业道路上提供一个国际化的视野,学习与运用重要的生存技能:批判性思维、创造力、独立性、成熟度、灵活性、坚韧度,和与不同国家和文化的人进行沟通和交流的能力。

在经济资助方面,弗大致力于为每个学生创造留学机会并有能力承担留学费用。 从学生金融服务处领取助学金的同学可以为他们的海外留学项目申请资助,还可以获得额外的助学金与奖学金资助。

成功留学的诀窍为提前准备。 网上的海外留学讲习班给学生介绍获得国际经历的步骤和如何准备。留学顾问会一步一步辅导学生走过这一过程。

Jefferson公民组织

为了推动弗大社区服务的使命,Jefferson公民组织项目鼓励学生们把教室和社区结合起来,在实践中学习,同时学以致用。学生们可以领导服务类研究课题,运用所学知识解答社会问题。各学院的本科生在大三之前都具有申请资格。Jefferson公民组织的学生们在学术期刊上发表课题结果,在学术讲座上展现他们的工作,并在成绩单上获取Jefferson公民的称号。

美式英语语言文化中心(CAELC)

美式英语语言文化中心提供一系列针对英语的语言帮助和服务,服务对象为校内母语非英文的学生。中心的职责是帮助弗大的所有成员获得在美国研究性大学取得成功所必需的英文语言能力和对美国文化的理解。除了学年中提供的服务外,中心也从六月中旬至八月中旬开办与学业相关的英文提高课程(EAP) 。这项课程为即将进入弗大就读的学生和研究人员提供。

公民学者办公室

这个办公室通过鼓励学生寻找促进学术探索、履行公民责任和培养创造力的机会来培养思想能力与公民责任。这个办公室也管理弗大的国家奖学金。

作为实现弗大使命的一个合作伙伴,这个办公室致力于通过其网站、数据库、社交媒体、通讯和介绍会来宣传各种机会,并为学生成长提供公平公正的奖学金申请程序,以及通过公共论坛、学术期刊和颁奖活动来分享学生们的重要贡献和成就。 

DATHEL和JOHN GEORGES 学生中心

该学生中心成立于2017年秋季,是弗大的一个学生辅导机构。位于Clemons图书馆二楼,中心为教职员工和学生提供小巧的会议室供其灵活使用。

中心内还设有一些常驻服务人员和部门,比如职业中心的医学和法学预科导师、学生财物服务中心的职员和转学生同学导师都提供随时可以进来的办公时间。写作中心、论文引用咨询中心、作品集同学导师和解决化学和微积分问题小组也都可以在该学生中心找到。弗大的冥想科学中心在此提供每周六天的各种相关课程。

该中心也鼓励职业发展或者同学辅导方面的学生组织利用这里的空间举行介绍会、面对面辅导和工作坊等活动。

Navigation

Search This Site

Other Academic Opportunities

January Term

January Term takes place during Winter Break. It provides students with unique opportunities: new courses that address topics of current interest, education abroad programs, undergraduate research seminars, and interdisciplinary courses. The intensive format of January Term classes encourages extensive student-faculty contact and allows students and faculty to immerse themselves in a subject. Students who enroll in January Term courses have access to a variety of student services and cocurricular activities. Financial aid is available for those who qualify.

Summer Session

Each summer, more than 4,000 students take advantage of a rich selection of programs and courses through UVA's Summer Session. Many of these programs and courses are not available during the academic year, including the University’s well-known Summer Language Institute.

Students commonly enroll in the Summer Session to fulfill requirements for a degree or double major, improve their GPA, shorten time to their degree, or explore new interests. Summer Session students have access to an array of support services and cocurricular activities.

For more information
http://summer.virginia.edu

Undergraduate Research

The mission of the Office of Undergraduate Research is to encourage, promote, and support undergraduate student research. In service to the UVA community, programs and funding offered through the office facilitate undergraduates' engagement with research experiences in all areas of scholarship. Among the many services offered are personal consultations, informational sessions, workshops, forums for presentations, a database of research opportunities, and administration of research grants. The office also is home to the Undergraduate Student Opportunities in Academic Research (USOAR) program, which matches work-study eligible students with paid research positions, and the Undergraduate Research Network (URN), a special status student organization.

Education Abroad

The University of Virginia views education abroad as an important academic endeavor, enriching students both intellectually and personally, and crucial in preparing students for leadership in a global context. This unique learning experience combines intellectual pursuits with firsthand exposure to different peoples, cultures, and values. It provides students with an opportunity to gain an international perspective on their chosen academic field or career path and to learn and practice important life skills — critical thinking, creativity, independence, maturity, flexibility, resilience, and the ability to interact and communicate with individuals from other cultures.

UVA is committed to making education abroad affordable and accessible to all students. Students receiving financial aid through Student Financial Services can apply this funding toward their education abroad programs. Additional need- and merit-based funding is available.

The key to a successful education abroad experience lies in early planning. The online Education Abroad Workshop introduces students to the steps involved in planning and preparing for their international experience. Education abroad Advisors guide students through these steps and support them throughout the sojourn.

Jefferson Public Citizens

To help advance the University’s public service mission, the Jefferson Public Citizens program encourages students to put their learning into action by connecting classrooms with communities. Students lead research-service projects and apply their knowledge to social issues. Undergraduates from all schools in their first three years of study are eligible to apply. JPC students publish their project results in a scholarly journal, present their work at an academic forum, and earn designation as a Jefferson Public Citizen on their transcript.

For more information
www.virginia.edu/jpc

Center for American English Language and Culture

The Center for American English Language and Culture (CAELC) provides an array of English language support services for UVA students whose native language is one other than English. CAELC is charged with helping members of the UVA community attain the level of linguistic and cultural proficiency needed for success at a research university in the United States. In addition to services available during the academic year, CAELC offers an intensive English for Academic Purposes (EAP) program mid-July through mid- August. The EAP program is for entering UVA students and research associates.

For more information
http://caelc.virginia.edu

Office of Citizen Scholar Development

This office cultivates intellectual and civic development by encouraging students to pursue opportunities that support scholarly inquiry, engaged citizenship, and creativity. It is home to national scholarships and fellowships programs at UVA.

By serving as a collaborative partner advancing the mission of the University, the office strives to communicate about opportunities through its website and databases, social media, newsletters, and informational sessions; to advise students through workshops and one-on-one tutorials; to provide fair and equitable application processes that contribute to students’ development; and to share significant contributions and accomplishments of students through public forums, academic journals, and events of recognition.

Dathel and John Georges Student Center

A home for student advising at the University, the Dathel and John Georges Student Center opened in fall 2017. Located on the second floor of Clemons Library, the center offers small meeting rooms and conference rooms designed for flexible use by faculty, staff, and students.

Several staff and support offices are located within the Georges Student Center. Pre-Health and Law Advisors from the Career Center, staff members from Student Financial Services, and Transfer Student Peer Advisors all offer walk-in hours. The Writing Center, the Source Dorks, ePortfolio Peer Consultants, and Group Problem Solving Initiative (chemistry and calculus support) also can be found at the center. UVA’s Contemplative Sciences Center holds classes six days per week.

Student groups focused on professional development or peer advising are encouraged to make use of the space for information sessions, drop-in hours, and workshops.